CTS 250K Pots ... to Identify. - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Main Telecaster Forum > Tele-Technical
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!

Tele-Technical Telecaster nuts and bolts talk ONLY

Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Guitar Pickups

Forum Jump

Thread Tools
Old January 31st, 2005, 01:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
bluezguy's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: West Pasco Florida USA
Age: 62
Posts: 275
CTS 250K Pots ... to Identify.

I'm assembling my first project Tele (an AM Standard 1995) and am confused about the volume and tone pots.
A local music store sold me 2 Fender 'no load' pots with a split shaft and 'cts' punched in the casting.
My info has it that the volume pot must be an 'audio taper' and the tone pot can be just a regular 250K cts pot.
These 2 pots are identical and both come with caps...hence...these 2 baby's are the same. Please enlighten me. Thanks!
Secondly, I need a bridge. Callaham was my first choice but they won't have a 3-hole Am Standard bridge for a few weeks. Can anybody recommend another high end bridge with resonance out the wazoo???

American Federation of Musicians
Local 427-721 - St. Petersburg FL.
ASCAP and Library of Congress - United States Copyright Office
bluezguy is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 31st, 2005, 04:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
lenny's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Haven, CT. USA
Posts: 3,197
hopefully they'd both be audio taper, since it works for volume or tone.
lenny is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 31st, 2005, 05:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
Kevin's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Terre Haute, IN
Posts: 2,926
You don't want a "no-load" for the volume, but a no-load is fine for the tone. The no-load totally removes the pot from the circuit, which means it behaves as if the tone control weren't there (a la the Esquire rear position, AFA the tone control goes).

For the volume, you want a 250K audio taper pot, and you can use those for the tone, too, but they aren't the "no load" variety.
Of course, I don't see anywhere in my post that says it'll actually work...
Kevin is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links   #
Sponsored posting



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

» Random Photo for Guests
40th Anniversary Custom Shop Tele in Natural


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

IMPORTANT:Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult! No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
© TDPRI.COM 1999 - 2014 All rights reserved.