3-Way switch wiring help - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.
   

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Main Telecaster Forum > Tele-Technical
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!
Notices

Tele-Technical Telecaster nuts and bolts talk ONLY


Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com


Forum Jump


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old February 25th, 2011, 03:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
TDPRI Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Manchester
Posts: 3
3-Way switch wiring help

I just bought this switch to replace the broken one in my Tele, but i cant figure out the wiring. I cant seem to find anything that corresponds to this switch on google, and i know you guys on this fourm know what you're on about. Any help would be greatly appreciated, wether its a wiring diagram, or somewhere where i can get a clue as to what im dealing with

Lugs 2-3 are joined, 4-5 are joined, and 6-7 are joined.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1519.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	21.7 KB
ID:	74429   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1523.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	21.3 KB
ID:	74430   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1525.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	18.7 KB
ID:	74431  


Jonesy11 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 25th, 2011, 05:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
Thighbanez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: delMARva
Posts: 1,972
whoa...thats different.
Who is the manufacturer of that switch?
Thighbanez is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 25th, 2011, 05:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Lewes De.
Posts: 1,734
Do you have an ohmmeter? How many positions ?
Teleterr is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links   #
Sponsored posting
 

Old February 25th, 2011, 05:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Lewes De.
Posts: 1,734
8 is in shadow?
Teleterr is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 25th, 2011, 05:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Poster Extraordinaire
 
sjtalon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Upper Peninsula of Michigan
Age: 55
Posts: 7,871
You could check yours against this with a ohm meter (continuity)

The "commons" are always connected to one of the other terminals and are usually jumped together and then a wire attached to go to the vol. pot.

http://www.seymourduncan.com/support...=standard_tele
Attached Images
 
sjtalon is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 25th, 2011, 06:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
Verne Bunsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sonoran Desert
Age: 34
Posts: 758
Well, if it didn't come with a diagram, we'll figure one out. Grab your multimeter and do this:

1) Put the switch in whatever you want to call position "1" and test for continuity between all points. My guess is you'll find that either 2/3 OR 6/7 will have continuity with 1 AND/OR 8.

2) Put the switch in the middle position ("2") and test for continuity everywhere. I predict that 4/5 has continuity with 2/3 AND 6/7, along with 1 AND/OR 8.

3) Put the switch in position "3" and test for continuity everywhere. I'd expect that 2/3 OR 6/7 (whichever was not active in step 1) will now have continuity with 1 AND/OR 8.

Now, if my guesses were correct, we know how to wire it. Depending on how you orient the switch (PCB towards or away from pickups), you'll run the hot wire from your neck pickup to whichever lugs were active in the proper switch position, and likewise for the bridge. No extra wiring necessary for the middle position because PCB switches are slick like that. 1 AND/OR 8 will be your hot to the volume pot.

Or if I'm way off, we can still figure out what goes where by knowing what has continuity with what when the switch is in a given position. Post what the ohmmeter told you and we'll figure it out from there.

Hope that helps!!
__________________
Yeah, well, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man...
Verne Bunsen is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 26th, 2011, 04:25 AM   #7 (permalink)
TDPRI Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Manchester
Posts: 3
Thanks everyone. It's a generic 3 way switch off eBay. Didn't mention a make or model. In hindsight I shouldve probably pain an extra 4 quid and got a fender :)
Jonesy11 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 26th, 2011, 01:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
Thinlineggman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oregon City, OR
Posts: 1,589
Squires come with switches like that. I just gave up and used 2 volumes on my latest build since I couldn't figure out the stupid thing, and I'm too cheap to buy one that corresponds to a wiring diagram:P

Besides, I always have the tone on 10 so I don't personally need the tone knob anyways.
Thinlineggman is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 26th, 2011, 03:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Poster Extraordinaire
 
sjtalon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Upper Peninsula of Michigan
Age: 55
Posts: 7,871
Squire:
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Squier Affinity Tele wiring.pdf (127.3 KB, 853 views)
sjtalon is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


» Random Photo for Guests
CIJ '55/'62 w/J. M. Rolph pickups
Untitled Document



 


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2



IMPORTANT:Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult! No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
© TDPRI.COM 1999 - 2014 All rights reserved.