Guitar ground loop 101?... - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.
   

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Main Telecaster Forum > Tele-Technical
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!
Tele-Technical Telecaster nuts and bolts talk ONLY


Place your Ad Here WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Guitar Pickups


Forum Jump


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old January 24th, 2011, 10:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
Boolywho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 450
Guitar ground loop 101?...

So I'm a little confused about the whole ground loop thing in reference to guitar circuits.

With this in mind, I have a few questions:

1) Can ground loops theoretically form in the first place in a normal guitar guitar circuit (e.g. a telecaster circuit)

2) Assuming they can form, what wiring configuration sets this situation of potential ground loop problems.

3) With #2 in mind, how can I avoid ground loops in my own tele circuit. Are there any rules of thumb?

Thanks for the info!

Boolywho is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 24th, 2011, 10:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 1,122
1) No they can't. Not possible.

2&3) Nothing to worry about. You could wire everything star grounded to a single point, or you could run hundreds of wires to, from, in between and around every single component in every direction possible, and it would still be completely impossible to achieve a ground loop.

http://www.aqdi.com/groundloop.htm
David Collins is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 24th, 2011, 10:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
Boolywho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 450
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Collins View Post
1) No they can't. Not possible.

2&3) Nothing to worry about. You could wire everything star grounded to a single point, or you could run hundreds of wires to, from, in between and around every single component in every direction possible, and it would still be completely impossible to achieve a ground loop.
Is this because there is only one true connection to ground in the circuit-- the grounding lug of the jack... as opposed to multiple connections to different grounds?
Boolywho is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links   #
Sponsored posting
 

Old January 24th, 2011, 10:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 1,122
More or less. Put simply, to get a ground loop you essentially need to have some level of voltage difference in the grounds of the power supply going to different components.

Ground loops have become a common myth in guitar wiring due to a misunderstanding of how they actually work. Many people have falsely assumed that if wires are connected in parallel between different components that current will potentially "loop" through them, simply because the wire forms a physical loop. This doesn't happen though, as current does not simply move in circles because they are available to travel through - it needs a motive to go in any direction, and if there's no voltage difference, there's no motive.

Ground loops can occur between an amp and pedals, or a mixing board and power amp if they are plugged in to different outlets, but not inside a passive guitar circuit.
David Collins is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 24th, 2011, 11:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Doctor of Teleocity
 
Jupiter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Osaka, Japan
Posts: 14,166
Only one way in and one way out for a guitar--until you touch a mike stand (or bandmate).
Jupiter is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 7th, 2013, 06:31 AM   #6 (permalink)
TDPRI Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Alliston, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Collins View Post
1) No they can't. Not possible.

2&3) Nothing to worry about. You could wire everything star grounded to a single point, or you could run hundreds of wires to, from, in between and around every single component in every direction possible, and it would still be completely impossible to achieve a ground loop.

http://www.aqdi.com/groundloop.htm
Sorry to be late in this thread, but a ground loop can occur inside a Guitar, according to:
http://www.guitarnuts.com/wiring/shielding/shield3.php

Jupiter does have a valid point, when you consider Mains loops, which are entirely possible when connecting different parts of your stage gear to separate supply circuits.

However; A great number of manufacturers have been installing shielding devices, albeit it mediocre foil tape inside the pick-guard, which also tends to create a common ground between each component, switch, pot, that is touching it. Having your pots all touching this foil as well as having their shells connected through typical soldered on connections, does indeed create 2 paths for the current to travel.

Thought it worth mentioning, even being late in the thread, and the link above is a relevant resource. :-)
Wee-Lamm.Tunes is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 7th, 2013, 08:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
Poster Extraordinaire
 
sjtalon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Upper Peninsula of Michigan
Age: 56
Posts: 8,712
Dr.Smith:

Oh the pain, the pain.
sjtalon is online now   Reply With Quote

Old January 16th, 2015, 08:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
TDPRI Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Alliston, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3
This article does speak well on how your different pieces of equipment can interact, but it does not speak about inside any one instrument.

Within the guitar, we have several circuits that are interconnected in a network. One important thing to remember is that there "Should be only" 1 line into and out of a circuit, active at any one time. That is, if you have your volume and tone controls all connect directly to ground and have them connected together, then each one has to potential paths to reach ground. It will choose to take the least restrictive path and if you happen to be in contact with that path, you can become that path.

More importantly though, having 2 paths to "signal" ground, will also create an antenna effect which will not only encourage more 60Hz hum to be picked up, but also anything else that acts as a transmitter, including fm radio signals, digital watches, cell phones, and a plethora of other things than can erode the signal.

Ground loops within your guitar wiring should be avoided both for safety reasona as well as having a clean sound.
Wee-Lamm.Tunes is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 16th, 2015, 11:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Poster Extraordinaire
 
dsutton24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Illinois
Posts: 6,144
No, that's about as wrong as it can possibly be. Guitar electronics, are not active, they're passive. The frequencies, distances, and voltage levels in a guitar are all minute, and cannot form ground loops that has any significant impact on the output. Digital watches, cell phones, and the like cannot interfere with the signal from a guitar, and FM radio transmitters certainly cannot. As far as the 'antenna effect' for 60 hz noise goes, the wiring is not the culprit when 60 hz noise is a problem, but rather the mile or so of wire wrapped up in the pickups.

That Guitarnuts article has been kicking around for a long time. It was complete hogwash then, and it hasn't improved with age. It's too bad that useful information doesn't have the staying power that nonsense does. You want a quiet guitar? Use good components, pay attention to wire dress, make sure everything is grounded properly, and most of all, learn to solder. That's all it takes.
__________________
Yet another hobby that is completely out of control...
dsutton24 is online now   Reply With Quote

Old January 16th, 2015, 11:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
Bartholomew3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,768
I bought a Les Paul Studio with "hot" pickups a couple of years back and recently noticed it picks up static electricity and makes static noise at times. It seems to depend on where I am and what I'm using for an amp plus carpet under my feet or not. The static may be building up in the control panel behind the back-plate. More expensive Les Pauls have a metal shield in the control cavity over the pots and wiring but not this Studio model - would that make a difference ?

I expect buzz to some extent when using the coil-split but not otherwise. Also notice that touching metal on the guitar reduces the slight buzz that I sometimes get on the humbuckers.

Now I'm pretty sure it wasn't that way last year - was completely silent so short of re-wiring a new guitar does anyone have suggestions - is shielding paint needed with humbuckers ?
__________________
"Have been around the block but am not yet over the hill..."
Bartholomew3 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 17th, 2015, 12:01 AM   #11 (permalink)
RIP
Poster Extraordinaire
 
Glen Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Canada
Age: 65
Posts: 8,512
The Blacktop Tele has humbuckers and the cavities have shielding paint and the bridge has a ground wire.
Glen Smith is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


» Random Photo for Guests
Modded Marauder



 


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2



IMPORTANT:Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult! No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
© TDPRI.COM 1999 - 2014 All rights reserved.