How to try out different fret sizes? - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Main Telecaster Forum > Tele-Technical
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!

Tele-Technical Telecaster nuts and bolts talk ONLY

Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com

Forum Jump

Old December 8th, 2010, 06:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Tele-Meister

How to try out different fret sizes?

I'm relatively new to the electric guitar world, and as such, don't have much of a feeling for the different fret sizes available for fingerboards.

This is a problem now because I'm planning a tele build and don't know what size fret wire to request when I buy my neck (currently planning on getting it from USACG).

USACG offers quite a few options, and it can be a little daunting for the uninitiated. I've tried out a vintage 52' reissue that had "vintage style" frets, and I liked those alright. I'm assuming Fender uses Dunlop size 6230 for those, right? Please correct me if I'm wrong. I'm not such a big fan of the "medium jumbo" frets on a standard MIM tele; they're a little to wide for my liking. Are these Dunlop size 6130's?

I'd really like to try out the Dunlop size 6105's and the 6125's, but I have absolutely no idea how to go about doing this. When I started asking the some guys at my local Guitar Center about fret size numbers, they just gave me this blank stare, as if no one in the history of GC customers had ever asked this question. I'm not going back there again!

Does anyone have any advice for a person in my predicament? Are there certain guitars that will almost assuredly have a certain fret size, so that could then use those as a surrogate to help me in my decision? Thanks for any help!

Boolywho is offline   Reply With Quote

Old December 8th, 2010, 07:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Doctor of Teleocity