control plate compatibility? - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.
   

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Main Telecaster Forum > Tele-Technical
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!

Tele-Technical Telecaster nuts and bolts talk ONLY


Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Advertise on the TDPRI Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com


Forum Jump


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old October 19th, 2008, 09:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
tubescent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: england
Posts: 168
control plate compatibility?

doin a partsacaster and wondered if american control plates match up with the holes on a highway one body? highway one body is essentially a mex body right? anyone had problems with the screws not lining up?

tubescent is offline   Reply With Quote

Old October 19th, 2008, 09:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
kylef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fife, Scotland
Posts: 414
cant see there being a problem mate.

its MIJ and MIA that dont line up...common thing with japanese fenders.
kylef is offline   Reply With Quote

Old October 19th, 2008, 09:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
Doug Ferguson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Age: 62
Posts: 2,212
Nah, shouldn't be a problem. I've put new CP's on Squires, MIM's, and MIA's with no trouble at all.
__________________
"If I don't like the way the times are moving I shall refuse to accompany them." -Horace Rumpole
Doug Ferguson is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links   #
Sponsored posting
 

Old October 19th, 2008, 10:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
PJ
Friend of Leo's
 
PJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 4,823
The import Teles, Fender and Squier, use metric hole spacing for mounting and are different from one another. When changing a Squier body to a Mex Std, I had to use the US control plate.
__________________
PJ
"I don't know if it's art, but I like it."
PJ is offline   Reply With Quote

Old October 19th, 2008, 11:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Doctor of Teleocity
 
Jack Wells's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Albuquerque, USA
Age: 70
Posts: 18,422
There are a few varialbles involved here. Not all pickguards are the same .......... not all control plates are the same. When Telecasters are assembled, first the pickguard is installed.......... then the control plate is fit into the pickguard notch and screws installed. This is the procedure that should be followed when assembling a partscaster. If control plate screw holes need to be filled and new ones drilled, that's not a big deal.
__________________
.

Disclaimer: When I say something.... always ask yourself ..... "What the hell does he know?"
I'm just not cool enough to be a Mac person.
I'm a PC and Windows 7 was my idea.
Jack Wells is offline   Reply With Quote

Old October 19th, 2008, 12:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Poster Extraordinaire
 
yegbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Maryland (US)
Age: 60
Posts: 6,100
Mighty Mite makes control plates 1 5/16" wide by 6 5/16" long, and this spec control plate is what I've seen used on Cort-built Squier Teles and Tele style guitars. The control plates on the [few] MIA and MIM Fender Teles I've seen are 1/16" narrower and shorter. A different width/length control plate requires a different radius in the half-circle cutout in the pickguard.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwells393 View Post
If control plate screw holes need to be filled and new ones drilled, that's not a big deal.
Not a big deal for me either.
yegbert is offline   Reply With Quote

Old October 19th, 2008, 12:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Former Member
Doctor of Teleocity
 
mellecaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Desperadoville..USA
Posts: 13,646
Deleted

Last edited by mellecaster; October 19th, 2008 at 12:14 PM. Reason: mis-quote
mellecaster is offline   Reply With Quote

Old October 19th, 2008, 12:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Former Member
Doctor of Teleocity
 
mellecaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Desperadoville..USA
Posts: 13,646
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike_odonovan View Post
doin a partsacaster and wondered if american control plates match up with the holes on a highway one body? highway one body is essentially a mex body right? anyone had problems with the screws not lining up?
Actually it's a USA Body...which btw takes the same plate & pickguard as a Mexican Fender Body.
mellecaster is offline   Reply With Quote

Old October 19th, 2008, 12:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
schoolie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Francisco, CA
Age: 47
Posts: 563
Does anybody recall which plates have 3/8" holes for the pots? The plate from guitarfetish is drilled for Metric pots and my CTS pots don't fit. Funny thing is that the drill bit to enlarge the pot holes is more expensive than a new control plate

IN particular, does the stewmac control plat fit USA pots and switches?

Thanks!
schoolie is offline   Reply With Quote

Old October 19th, 2008, 12:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
Doctor of Teleocity
 
Jack Wells's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Albuquerque, USA
Age: 70
Posts: 18,422
I've never ordered a StewMac control plate but I'm thinking solid shaft pots may not fit since StewMac only sells split shaft pots which require a 5/16 in. hole.

I suggest buying control plates from The Stratosphere aka reliablefender. Get one taken from a MIM or MIA Telecaster. If you buy multiple items from them you can get a break on the shipping.
__________________
.

Disclaimer: When I say something.... always ask yourself ..... "What the hell does he know?"
I'm just not cool enough to be a Mac person.
I'm a PC and Windows 7 was my idea.
Jack Wells is offline   Reply With Quote

Old October 19th, 2008, 03:29 PM   #11 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
schoolie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Francisco, CA
Age: 47
Posts: 563
Quote:
Originally Posted by schoolie View Post
Does anybody recall which plates have 3/8" holes for the pots? The plate from guitarfetish is drilled for Metric pots and my CTS pots don't fit. Funny thing is that the drill bit to enlarge the pot holes is more expensive than a new control plate

IN particular, does the stewmac control plat fit USA pots and switches?

Thanks!
Good idea. I'll check Stratosphere.

Thanks, Dr Wells!
schoolie is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


» Random Photo for Guests
Esquire & tweed Blues Jr
Untitled Document



 


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2



IMPORTANT:Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult! No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
© TDPRI.COM 1999 - 2014 All rights reserved.