new(ish)? wiring config - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.
   

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > The DIY Channel > Tele Home Depot
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!
Notices

Tele Home Depot Building a T-Style guitar? From scratch or from parts. This is the forum for you.


Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com


Forum Jump


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old December 22nd, 2013, 01:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
TDPRI Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: hampshire uk
Posts: 17
new(ish)? wiring config

Hi - thought I would share my tele wiring config, which I see as an up-to-date reworking of some of the original wiring schemes.

-volume pot as normal (I like this near the bridge PU with a reversed plate.)

-no tone pot, but a blend knob mixing both PUs (iron gear PU's - brilliant, fantastic value)

-switch, 5 way super switch.
pos 1; bridge PU only, direct (a must for that unadulterated tele scream)
pos 2; both PUs routed through the blend knob
pos 3; both PUs in series
pos 4and5; routed through blend knob but with an added preset tone cap to each. I like very subtle tone effects to just take the very biting highs off and have used very low values. to my ears this kind of sounds like the top end is 'pinched' and focussed with some amp settings

if you are a true tele purist I guess this is not for you, though you get a lot more tones with no extra knobs, and the concepts are all taken from the earlier instruments.
great for fine tuning a sound for recording - useless if you value your tone knob or use it 'on the fly'!

love to hear what you think!

rob63 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old December 23rd, 2013, 07:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
Poster Extraordinaire
 
guitarbuilder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Hemlock, NY
Age: 60
Posts: 9,465
I once made a superstrat with 13 different sounds if I recall correctly. I used 2 of them. If you like to mess with the electronics.... there are plenty of things you can do. I prefer a simpler approach, as I suspect many others do.
__________________
Membership Chairman-Guild of Archaic Guitarbuilders
Flood Control Technician-IGPA
guitarbuilder is offline   Reply With Quote

Old December 23rd, 2013, 02:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
TDPRI Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: hampshire uk
Posts: 17
hi - i take your point. I have a strat config tele with just 1 two position switch for BR/M and NK/M...

I do think my scheme goes a bit beyond the 'fancy for the sake of it' though because;

1; it uses the existing controls simply with no stacked pots ect
2; it uses ideas from the original esquire wirings
rob63 is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links   #
Sponsored posting
 

Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


» Random Photo for Guests
IMG_8187
Untitled Document



 


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2



IMPORTANT:Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult! No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
© TDPRI.COM 1999 - 2014 All rights reserved.