Need some advice from TDPRI DIY Guys - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > The DIY Channel > Tele Home Depot
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!
Notices

Tele Home Depot Building a T-Style guitar? From scratch or from parts. This is the forum for you.

Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com

Forum Jump

Old February 1st, 2013, 12:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
Tele-Meister

Need some advice from TDPRI DIY Guys

Hi Everybody

I am very new to the hobby and had a failed attempt at last years Challenge before I realised that if I wanted to get serious with guitar building (and be successful) I have much to learn as well as many tools to purchase. So over the last 12 months I have been slowly accumulating new tools and buying different wood and storing it until I felt comfortable enough to organise a workspace and get busy...

In the meantime, I have been fortunate enough to plan a trip to the USA (I currently reside in Australia) with the Mrs for the month of March 2013, in which we plan on driving across the States starting in LA and finishing in Western New York. (I am originally from WNY and all my family still live there) I am very excited to see parts of my own country I was never able to visit while I lived there.

I am also looking to you guys for a little advice....

I want to visit as many places of interest as I can during the trip. Places of interest to me are places which I can learn something about building guitars , and with that in mind, I have planned to visit the Fender factory in California as well as the Gibson factory in Memphis, but that is all I can come up with.