How to drill holes in neck? - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > The DIY Channel > Tele Home Depot
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!

Tele Home Depot Building a T-Style guitar? From scratch or from parts. This is the forum for you.

Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com

Forum Jump

Old September 10th, 2009, 02:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Tele-Meister

How to drill holes in neck?

This is my first time build, i am 17 and just bought a mighty mite rosewood fretboard/maple neck which cost me 90 bucks.

i do not want to mess anything up!

so i was going over how i should drill the neck holes in my neck, since it comes without the holes. =/

anyways i was thinking can i just place the neck in the neckpocket.
use a C-clamp to apply pressure and keep both the neck and the body aligned and together. and use the holes of the body (already drilled out by the builder of the body.) as a template?
What bit size should i use to start drilling? should i just drill about a centimeter into the neck and then hand screw the rest in???

PLEASE HELP ME! =/
I AM REALLY NERVOUS!

giale123 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old September 10th, 2009, 03:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Doctor of Teleocity

Here's what I do.

Put the tuners on the neck and the (2) E strings like you were changing strings.