Methods for learning scales - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Other Discussion Forums > Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!

Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique Formerly "Suger Free Tab & Music 101." Look for and post TAB, talk about playing technique or music theory. Nuts and bolts of playing music... not gear.

Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com

Forum Jump

Old January 24th, 2007, 01:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Tele-Meister

Methods for learning scales

I'm relatively new to the forum, but I've been playing for about 2 years, mainly acoustic. Ever since I got my Tele, I've picked up my Martin acoustic maybe a total of 6 hrs. I love this thing!

I know most of the basics (chords, playing from tabs, etc), but I'm looking to learn scales and improve my playing. From what I've read, starting with the major pentatonic or mixolydian is a good starting point. Right? What are some tried and true methods used in learning the scales? Learn each box separately? I'm kinda lost as to how to learn these things. Any input is greatly appreciated. BTW, I play mainly country.

Thanks,
Ryan

Onyx Z is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 24th, 2007, 02:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's