Best rockabilly guitar book? - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Other Discussion Forums > Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!
Notices

Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique Formerly "Suger Free Tab & Music 101." Look for and post TAB, talk about playing technique or music theory. Nuts and bolts of playing music... not gear.

Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com

Forum Jump

Old December 9th, 2013, 06:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Tele-Meister

Best rockabilly guitar book?

I've looked online and have found various posts on this topic, but nothing that *quite* answers my question, so I'm going ahead and posting here......

I'm a beginner/intermediate player and currently mainly play indie rock and some blues. I'm starting to really enjoy rockabilly and have been trying to master Mystery Train using a thumb-pick (with some success, although I've a way to go yet).

I'd like to buy a good book with a CD of backing tracks that goes over the basics of rockabilly playing, and also has transcriptions of the various "standards" i.e. classic rockabilly tracks, together with backing tracks on the CD. I'm thinking Scotty Moore, Carl Perkins, etc rather than the modern stuff.

The transcriptions would need to be in tab form as I can't read music (and yes, I know from my experience of learning Mystery Train that tab is less-than-ideal with this style of music as it doesn't show rhythm/picking patterns etc!).

Does such a book exist? Or perhaps I should go down the DVD route?

guitarsammy is offline   Reply With Quote

Old December 9th, 2013, 06:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's

Tried this guy? http://damianbacci.com/store
sir humphrey is offline   Reply With Quote

Old December 9th, 2013, 06:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's