About calluses - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Other Discussion Forums > Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!
Notices

Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique Formerly "Suger Free Tab & Music 101." Look for and post TAB, talk about playing technique or music theory. Nuts and bolts of playing music... not gear.

Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com

Forum Jump

Old December 6th, 2013, 11:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Doctor of Teleocity

About calluses

I used to have the best calluses. They were smooth and even pliable, with no dead skin coming off. I was playing a lot of guitar back then. When I started playing again, my general technique had changed a little: more bends, bend vibratos, slurs, slides, and trills. One reason for this emphasis on the left hand, was that tendonitis in my right hand was severe enough in the old days to make me hang up my axe. Even now, if I over-do it on my right hand, I will feel that particular kind of pain start to return.

If I am doing a lot of left hand stuff, as mentioned above, my finger tips get sore beneath the surface. The surface appears fine. I have tried any and every type of treatment on my calluses, which all help a little. Super Glue, liquid bandages, and the like are good for spur of the moment problems. On a more long-term basis, I have tried salt water, witch hazel, and rubbing alcohol. The alcohol has been the most effective.