Is hybrid picking possible without nails? - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Other Discussion Forums > Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!
Notices

Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique Formerly "Suger Free Tab & Music 101." Look for and post TAB, talk about playing technique or music theory. Nuts and bolts of playing music... not gear.

Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com

Forum Jump

Old January 16th, 2013, 01:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's

Is hybrid picking possible without nails?

Can you still dig in and get a chicken pickin' pop.

I recently started playing bass and really want to use a proper two-finger technique but I can't because I grow my nails for hybrid picking on the guitar.

Old January 16th, 2013, 01:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Poster Extraordinaire

I keep my nails trimmed and have no problem with it, though I tend to "snap" the strings rather than "pluck" them. In that regard, I have found that if I don't keep them trimmed they tend to snag on the strings.
Frodebro is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 16th, 2013, 01:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Tele-Holic

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frodebro View Post
I keep my nails trimmed and have no problem with it, though I tend to "snap" the strings rather than "pluck" them. In that regard, I have found that if I don't keep them trimmed they tend to snag on the strings.
Exactly. Me too.
guitar dan is online now   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links   #
Sponsored posting

Old January 16th, 2013, 02:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted

I don't use a pick and am constantly fooling with the length of mine trying to find that spot where I can use my nails but not break them all of the time doing other things. You might be surprised at how short they can be and still be usable.