i can't really consider myself a guitarist - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Other Discussion Forums > Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!
Notices

Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique Formerly "Suger Free Tab & Music 101." Look for and post TAB, talk about playing technique or music theory. Nuts and bolts of playing music... not gear.

Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com

Forum Jump

Old November 30th, 2012, 01:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Tele-Holic

i can't really consider myself a guitarist

I'm wondering if anyone else is in this situation. I've been playing the guitar for about 15 years now. Never took any lessons, just looked up tabs for songs that i liked. So while i know chord shapes, and how to play a song by looking at tabs, i really have no clue about anything when it comes to actually making music on a guitar.

I don't know the first thing about theory, i couldn't play you any scales if you asked me to. I certainly can't improvise over chords in any appreciable way. basically i can't do anything that would classify me as an actual guitarist, since i can't properly use the tool to create music. Sure i can look at tabs and reproduce the music displayed, but i have no idea why the notes in that solo sound good, and can't fathom how someone could have came up with it.

Every time i've tried to go through some beginner lessons on theory or scales or some such thing i just immediately feel overwhelmed with the concepts and terminology and give up, resigning to just plunking around on the guitar.

i'm fairly ashamed to admit all this, but i wanted to get it off my chest. does anybody else struggle with this?

doof is offline   Reply With Quote

Old November 30th, 2012, 01:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's