The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Other Discussion Forums > Stratocaster Discussion Forum
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!
Notices

Stratocaster Discussion Forum Fender's "other" great guitar the Stratocaster.

Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com

Forum Jump

Old August 28th, 2013, 06:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Tele-Meister

Strat Tone Controls

I'm new to the Strat (couple of months), and after trying out a number of different models, I'm wondering why there are so many variations in new guitars coming straight from Fender. (I understand that many players love to mod their Fenders.)
My 2006 standard has what I think is normal: one volume, and two tone control: the first (next to volume) controls the neck pickup, the second controls the middle PU and the bridge PU has no tone control.
I tried a 2007 Highway One, which has no tone control on the middle PU, but does on the bridge.
A Classic 50s (not sure what year) has tone control on all PUs, as does the new Rustic Ash.
Although I assume you can get any combo you want by modding the wiring, I don't see any rhyme or reason for all the variations on standard models out of the factory.

PopsCC is offline   Reply With Quote

Old August 28th, 2013, 06:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Poster Extraordinaire

I think those guitars you tried probably have been modded. The classic at least, should have the same vintage correct tone wiring as your standard.
waparker4 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old August 28th, 2013, 07:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Tele-Holic