From 2 7/32 to 2 1/16 string spacing with 2 7/32 bolt spacing, HELP! - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.
   

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Other Discussion Forums > Stratocaster Discussion Forum
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!
Notices

Stratocaster Discussion Forum Fender's "other" great guitar the Stratocaster.


Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com


Forum Jump


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old December 29th, 2008, 12:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
ShortBuSX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Florida
Age: 42
Posts: 678
From 2 7/32 to 2 1/16 string spacing with 2 7/32 bolt spacing, HELP!

Im trying to find a bridge with 2 7/32 bolt spacing and 2 1/16 string spacing, Ive been searching most of the morning and about all I can come up with is 06+ HWY 1 upgrades have the kinda spacing Im looking for...but I need a part number or link.
Im hoping somebody here knows about trems and spacing that can point me in the right direction

ShortBuSX is offline   Reply With Quote

Old December 29th, 2008, 12:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
ShortBuSX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Florida
Age: 42
Posts: 678
Well I found the $175.00 Callaham V/N Model Strat Bridge(2 7/32 mounting spacing with 2 1/16 string spacing)...but am really looking for affordable too!
ShortBuSX is offline   Reply With Quote

Old December 29th, 2008, 01:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
ShortBuSX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Florida
Age: 42
Posts: 678
Anybody?
ShortBuSX is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links   #
Sponsored posting
 

Old December 29th, 2008, 01:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
TDPRI Member
 
Orbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Silver City, NM
Age: 63
Posts: 98
Have you tried the Stratosphere on eBay?
They have them listed as vintage style

like this highway one new style trem
__________________
~ Odds are, either it will,
... or it won't.
Orbit is offline   Reply With Quote

Old December 29th, 2008, 01:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
ShortBuSX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Florida
Age: 42
Posts: 678
Wow, thats exactly what Im looking for...and it was your posts that got me to where I am now. So since youre in the know...what exactly am I looking for? Is there a part number or name for it???
Theres really not alot of info in most of these descriptions, I searched the Stratosphere, even sent them a message telling them what I was looking for...still waiting on a reply.
Im gonna try and jump on that one you posted, but I have better luck with the Buy It Now options, so any more info you could gimme would help me with future searches.
ShortBuSX is offline   Reply With Quote

Old December 29th, 2008, 02:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
TDPRI Member
 
Orbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Silver City, NM
Age: 63
Posts: 98
I don't think they have the parts list out for the 'Upgrade' HWY 1, at least not on Fender's site.

I found mine by cruising ebay constantly after deciding I wanted to try it. Glad I did, I like it better.
The quality is American, also with longer string slots than the older vintage style.
__________________
~ Odds are, either it will,
... or it won't.
Orbit is offline   Reply With Quote

Old December 29th, 2008, 02:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
ShortBuSX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Florida
Age: 42
Posts: 678
I just wanna get away from that dancing on the edge of the fretboard sensation.
ShortBuSX is offline   Reply With Quote

Old December 29th, 2008, 04:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Poster Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: California
Posts: 8,331
If you do this mod, do you need to cut a new nut also?
__________________
I don't need no I.D.,I know who I am,I'm Tommy Bolin!
Post Toastie is offline   Reply With Quote

Old December 29th, 2008, 04:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
TDPRI Member
 
Orbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Silver City, NM
Age: 63
Posts: 98
I didn't, I don't think it's an issue.
I'm using a narrow style nut on a usacg neck, but I also used this trem with a mexi classic 60's with narrow nut and vintage frets.
They work with wider Hwy 1 necks, by default.

also..
another benefit to the new hwy 1 block complete is it's got a steel big block.

No other mods needed done, other than set saddle heights and intonation.
The saddles went high enough in the center to follow the curve of the 7.25, too.
__________________
~ Odds are, either it will,
... or it won't.

Last edited by Orbit; December 29th, 2008 at 04:39 PM. Reason: addition
Orbit is offline   Reply With Quote

Old December 29th, 2008, 08:26 PM   #10 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
Robbied_216's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Age: 29
Posts: 1,088
Are the Highway One Tremolo's really an improvement, over something like my Japanese 50's re-issue for example? I have seen that they have a steel block, whereas I am pretty sure mine is just some cast junk....and I am currently using GraphTech saddles, and am not sure if I might be losing anything on the tonal front by not using the vintage style saddles....

Has anyone done a comparison like this???
Robbied_216 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 2nd, 2009, 12:50 PM   #11 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
ShortBuSX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Florida
Age: 42
Posts: 678
Thanks for the help Orbit, I finally won an auction last night on one, probably paid too much(bout $70) but it is brand new with all the parts.

Note to self: dont expect to win any auctions(at a low price) on Ebay if the product was discused here within the same week.
ShortBuSX is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 2nd, 2009, 01:40 PM   #12 (permalink)
TDPRI Member
 
Orbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Silver City, NM
Age: 63
Posts: 98
Great, ShortBuSX...
Yeah, a tad high for my liking, too, but sometimes, you just do what you have to do.

I work out of the house (on computers of all things) and am able to constantly track down a deal when I'm looking, but that's what it takes... that and patience.

Let us know how YOU like yours. I like mine, it's like having an aftermarket trem, but not. I think the Fender name on it makes it a more desireable trem.
I paid over $110 for a Wilkinson VSVG that I didn't like as much as the HWY 1 Upgrade.

oh, yeah, and HAPPY NEW YEAR everyone ! I see we made it... :)
__________________
~ Odds are, either it will,
... or it won't.
Orbit is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 2nd, 2009, 02:32 PM   #13 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
ShortBuSX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Florida
Age: 42
Posts: 678
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orbit View Post
Great, ShortBuSX...
Yeah, a tad high for my liking, too, but sometimes, you just do what you have to do.

I work out of the house (on computers of all things) and am able to constantly track down a deal when I'm looking, but that's what it takes... that and patience.

Let us know how YOU like yours. I like mine, it's like having an aftermarket trem, but not. I think the Fender name on it makes it a more desireable trem.
I paid over $110 for a Wilkinson VSVG that I didn't like as much as the HWY 1 Upgrade.

oh, yeah, and HAPPY NEW YEAR everyone ! I see we made it... :)
My internets aint hooked up at home for the moment, so I wasnt able to hover the Ebay, I missed a couple that went for bout $55...I loath bidding and would rather BIN, every now and again bidding is my only option *shrug*
But I dont feel too terribly bad though, as I see 2 7/32 x 2 7/32 Fender trems going for $100+ retail...and this obviously is more rare than those, so I still feel good bout it.
And my guitar is definitely gonna feel better because of it!
Thanks for the help and guidance!
ShortBuSX is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 2nd, 2009, 07:30 PM   #14 (permalink)
TDPRI Member
 
Orbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Silver City, NM
Age: 63
Posts: 98
New partsocaster today

I got my new usa 57 RI body today and swapped out the parts from the black strat to this one, using the HWY 1 trem. It came out awesome. I love it already, haven't played it but about 15 minutes, have to go out for the evening...
but here she is

no scratches or dings, the marks are all reflections :)



__________________
~ Odds are, either it will,
... or it won't.
Orbit is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 7th, 2009, 01:09 PM   #15 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
ShortBuSX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Florida
Age: 42
Posts: 678
I may be ignorant, but my bridge just arrived...with no arm???
Is this common?
And if so, then what arm do I buy???
I dont ever use the trem, but Id really like to avoid having the block stripped should I ever decide to set it up for use.
Currently I have 3 arms in my parts box, labeled with masking tape, 1 MIM, 1 MIJ and one Squier MIIndo...would any of these possibly work?
ShortBuSX is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 7th, 2009, 06:49 PM   #16 (permalink)
TDPRI Member
 
Orbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Silver City, NM
Age: 63
Posts: 98
yeah, no arm is the way most of them come. They want to squeeze every last bit of $$ from you.
It takes a standard american threaded arm... vintage works, I believe, probably the one you DON"T have.

I found today, duh, that the springs on the saddles were doing absolutely nothing... just sitting there contributing heavily to what I thought was string rattle. so I took them off, put them in a bag, and it works just fine. no annoying buzzy noise that I couldn't find before :) :)
__________________
~ Odds are, either it will,
... or it won't.
Orbit is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 8th, 2009, 12:13 PM   #17 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
ShortBuSX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Florida
Age: 42
Posts: 678
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orbit View Post
yeah, no arm is the way most of them come. They want to squeeze every last bit of $$ from you.
It takes a standard american threaded arm... vintage works, I believe, probably the one you DON"T have.

I found today, duh, that the springs on the saddles were doing absolutely nothing... just sitting there contributing heavily to what I thought was string rattle. so I took them off, put them in a bag, and it works just fine. no annoying buzzy noise that I couldn't find before :) :)
Thanks for the heads up bout the saddle springs, I noticed they were a lil sloppy but figured theyd snug up once I got it intonated...so Im glad I didnt go through the entire process only to have them rattling....thank you!

BTW I sent a message to the seller(Stratosphere) telling her that her add was misleading as it used the term "tremolo" repeatedly in the description but yet it didnt come with one...but shes pretty much got her a$$ covered by her disclaimer that if it aint in the pic it aint included...shes got another sales category for "whammy bars"
ShortBuSX is offline   Reply With Quote

Old September 15th, 2013, 05:44 AM   #18 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
tatittle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North NJ
Posts: 317
I am a bit suspicious of "the stratosphere" seller on bay. Seems the stuff is often described as better condition than what shows up. Gibsondependable I found terrific though.
tatittle is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


» Random Photo for Guests
Chazzmaster
Untitled Document



 


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2



IMPORTANT:Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult! No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
© TDPRI.COM 1999 - 2014 All rights reserved.