Acoustic Simulator - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.
   

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Other Discussion Forums > The Stomp Box
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!
Notices

The Stomp Box Effects pedals and their effect on your playing.


Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com


Forum Jump


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old November 3rd, 2005, 11:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
Flaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Austin, TEXAS, USA
Posts: 400
Acoustic Simulator

Is there any kind of acoustic simulator out there that works decent? I'm looking for something I can plug my Tele into and have it sound similar to a piezo equipped acoustic when going through the PA at my church. I know Boss makes a pedal like this but it doesn't seem like it has very good reviews.

__________________
Shawn "Flaco" Jones
Flaco is offline   Reply With Quote

Old November 3rd, 2005, 01:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Poster Extraordinaire
 
Joel Terry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Old Hickory (Nashville), Tennessee, USA
Age: 46
Posts: 5,188
Re: Acoustic Simulator

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flaco
Is there any kind of acoustic simulator out there that works decent? I'm looking for something I can plug my Tele into and have it sound similar to a piezo equipped acoustic when going through the PA at my church. I know Boss makes a pedal like this but it doesn't seem like it has very good reviews.
You should try out the BOSS AC-2, Flaco. I think most people who give it bad reviews think it's supposed to make an electric guitar sound just like a Martin D-28 or a Gibson J-200 or the like--which it won't, of course. But I think it achieves the piezo-acoustic sound quite well. I think it could be what you're looking for. My only complaint about the AC-2 is that it can be a bit hissy, a bit noisy.

Joel
__________________
.
Shoe-tying requires peace and quiet! -- SpongeBob SquarePants

Joel Terry is offline   Reply With Quote

Old November 3rd, 2005, 02:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
telel6s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 1,373
AC-2

I had an AC-2 for a couple of years. It was a fun toy, but didn't really sound like an acoustic when I had it going through a Super Reverb. I sold when I bought a good acoustic guitar.

If you plan on going into a PA, it might work for you, however. As I recall, the noise came in because I had to set the level pretty high to match up with the bypassed mode. But if you've go the bypass going to an amp and the effect going to the PA, you could keep the pedal level lower and use the PA to get the final volume where you want it.

For only three knobs, it was pretty easy to EQ to my liking (Body, Top and Type). While Body and Top are basically Bass & Treble, they seemed to do a bit more than just that. For Type you get (if I recall correctly) Standard, Jumbo, Piezo and Enhanced. Noticeable differences between the four....just chose the one you like for the guitar you're using.

The one thing I had wished that pedal had was to be able to send both the effect and unaffected signal. Unfortunately, if you are running to both an amp (electric) and PA (acoustic) the sound either goes to one or the other.
__________________
Mama always said, "A little tone is good for the soul."

http://www.tdpri.com/telephoto/data/...tandzsmall.jpg
telel6s is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links   #
Sponsored posting
 
Sponsored by...

Old November 3rd, 2005, 03:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
teledude66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Lawndale,N.C.
Age: 47
Posts: 2,775
ditto...

same here with the level not enough push in it, otherwise it would get you by for an acoustic effect...on a side note i had in front of a fuzz pedal and had both on, it gave a really authentic "Beatles Revolution sound"
__________________
The fact that no one understands you doesn't mean you're an artist.
teledude66 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old November 3rd, 2005, 03:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
Flaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Austin, TEXAS, USA
Posts: 400
Cool, I didn't realize it switched between 2 separate outputs. That may make it just the ticket.

Thanks for the feedback!
__________________
Shawn "Flaco" Jones
Flaco is offline   Reply With Quote

Old November 3rd, 2005, 04:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Enniscorthy, Ireland
Age: 53
Posts: 1,484
Im curious

I have a Boss AC2 and could never get a useable sound out of it.How do you set it?
__________________
cheers

fakeocaster
fakeocaster is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


» Random Photo for Guests
1960 Stratocaster
Untitled Document



 


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2



IMPORTANT:Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult! No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
© TDPRI.COM 1999 - 2014 All rights reserved.