Multi effects boards vs individual pedals - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.
   

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Other Discussion Forums > The Stomp Box
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!
Notices

The Stomp Box Effects pedals and their effect on your playing.


Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com


Forum Jump


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old February 8th, 2013, 10:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
TDPRI Member
 
BoxcarBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cleveland Ohio
Posts: 68
Multi effects boards vs individual pedals

Recently I was thinking of buying a multi effect rackmount Line 6 pod. I thought of this from several standpoints one: being convenience two :being select ability of tone in three :being portability. However I do feel like something is lost within the tone when it comes to multi-effects processors. I do have some petals right now one being a crybaby wah at Dan electro daddy O overdrive and the small chorus pedal from electro harmonics. Any thoughts?

BoxcarBob is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 8th, 2013, 10:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Doctor of Teleocity
 
KevinB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Jersey
Age: 63
Posts: 10,106
I think the Pod's effects are really very good - I have a Pod XTL

I have a bunch of individual pedals on a floor board, but between the wires all over the place and the power supply and hum issues, I prefer the Pod.
KevinB is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 8th, 2013, 10:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
supersoldier71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Age: 43
Posts: 227
I don't currently gig, but if/when I do, my RP1000 through the effects loop of my Peavey C50 will almost certainly be the way I do it.

Maybe I'm deaf, but I cannot say that the effects in the RP1000 sound better or worse than the individual pedals I've plugged into the same amp.

RP1000 plus C50 with a Mustang III for back up and I've got a great sounding, reliable rig that's easy to set up and tear down, easy to go direct to FOH, and frankly, should any one component be lost, stolen or ruined, I won't be dead in the water, either for that performance, or financially, going forward.
supersoldier71 is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links   #
Sponsored posting
 

Old February 8th, 2013, 10:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Poster Extraordinaire
 
uriah1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: toledo
Age: 59
Posts: 9,770
Preference...and back to that age old tonequest. I like some of my old stomps,
I am use to their setting, reliability, TONE, etc.

That is not saying I could never find a multi effect to do it all, but maybe I would have to get a couple multi-effect boards, 1 that has this sound, 1 that can do this one, etc, etc. .What a vicious web...lol
__________________
Music is a moral law. It gives soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, and charm and gaiety to life and to everything....Plato
uriah1 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 8th, 2013, 10:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Age: 32
Posts: 971
I use a lot of effects and I never found a multi-effect system that does what I want, and there's always a weird stompbox or two that I would want to add anyway. It' just so much simpler to have the individual effects all lined up in the order I prefer, with physical dials to turn instead of some button-based GUI monstrosity.
__________________
When I became a man I put away childish things,
including the fear of childishness and the desire to be very grown up.
--C.S. Lewis
elsewhere is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 8th, 2013, 10:55 AM   #6 (permalink)

Formerly known as Eryque
Doctor of Teleocity
 
KokoTele's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: albany, ny [not chicago]
Age: 39
Posts: 12,649
I generally find that the multi-effects units have some sounds that I really like, but others that range from "okay I guess" to "yuck," so I go for individual pedals.

If you get all the sounds you want out of that multi-effects unit, there's no good reason not to get it.
__________________
Repairs. Modifications. Fretwork.

Parts & Pickups

www.kokoteleguitarworks.com
KokoTele is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 8th, 2013, 11:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
Obsessed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Montana
Posts: 3,968
I always thought it would be nice to have a pod as your "grab and run" unit for small gigs or fun jams, but if you are recording, I suspect it would end up being unsatisfying. It probably depends on how important "tone" is to you or maybe the music you play.
Obsessed is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 8th, 2013, 11:10 AM   #8 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
Wrong-Note Rod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: atlanta
Posts: 3,220
If you're old like me, the idea of putting your glasses on, bending down over some multi-effect gizmo, and scrolling thru a bunch of menus with tiny text, isnt your idea of a good time and certainly nothing you'd ever want to do at a gig.

I got a Pod XT for christmas one year recently. I spent an irritating hour with it, trying to negotiate all those stupid menus in that insanely small text in that tiny little window. Back to the store.

Designed by 20 year olds, for 20 year olds.
__________________
___________________________________
CARGO PANTS - TELE - GIG STYLIN' BABY
Wrong-Note Rod is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 8th, 2013, 11:14 AM   #9 (permalink)
Doctor of Teleocity
 
Skully's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Glamorous NoHo
Posts: 10,972
Quote:
I got a Pod XT for christmas one year recently. I spent an irritating hour with it, trying to negotiate all those stupid menus in that insanely small text in that tiny little window. Back to the store.
You should've tried tweaking the settings with a computer.
__________________
Bright Shiny Object

Skullysounds
Skully is online now   Reply With Quote

Old February 8th, 2013, 11:19 AM   #10 (permalink)
TDPRI Member
 
BoxcarBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cleveland Ohio
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinB View Post
I think the Pod's effects are really very good - I have a Pod XTL

I have a bunch of individual pedals on a floor board, but between the wires all over the place and the power supply and hum issues, I prefer the Pod.
Is yours a rack mount?
BoxcarBob is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 8th, 2013, 11:45 AM   #11 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 1,726
If its for recording id just record a basic tone then do the rest with plugins (bombfactory, softube, etc) they sound a lot better than multieffects units imo, & you can still mix & match the best ones
CrisHendrix is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 8th, 2013, 11:52 AM   #12 (permalink)
FMA
Friend of Leo's
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 4,214
I gig with both. I have a board with individual pedals and a Line 6 M9. And sometimes, I combine them on a smaller board, depending on the gig and stage space and whatnot.
The M9 is a great device. Just stompboxes. No menus to mess with. No amp models or other stuff like that. Stupid simple to use and very good sounding.
Generally, I was skeptical of Line 6 gear. But this thing is great. The delays and modulation effects are very good. The ODs and distortions are very usable with some tweaking. Lots of great sounds in it...
For most gigs, I'll put the M9 on a Pedaltrain mini with an OCD and a FD-1 and it pretty much covers everything I need.
FMA is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 8th, 2013, 11:54 AM   #13 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
Wrong-Note Rod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: atlanta
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skully View Post
You should've tried tweaking the settings with a computer.
yeah so I need to drag a computer now to a gig so I can edit the settings on my Pod if they arent right.

Pedals are just easier, usually sound better, and you just bring the ones you need.

I know there are guys using the Line6 direct type stuff, and they sound very good, the guitarist for the B52s is a good example.

Maybe if I had someone to set it up and run it for me.....
__________________
___________________________________
CARGO PANTS - TELE - GIG STYLIN' BABY
Wrong-Note Rod is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 8th, 2013, 11:59 AM   #14 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
ce24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Idahoastan
Age: 64
Posts: 3,109
Boss ME-50 has stomp box tones and stomp box knobs in a multi case. Great pedal good tones. period
__________________
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Slackw...21128657913864
www.motagator.net/slackwater
the dude abides....stupid reality again! 5e3/vibrochamp/custom vibrolux reverb/street cube/teal stripe bandit. .
ce24 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 8th, 2013, 12:11 PM   #15 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
Wailin' Tele's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 1,426
G system user here, it has no dist/OD but everything else. It does have 3 loops I/O which i have connected my favorite OD and distortion stomp boxes. Rugged and handy unit.

http://www.tcelectronic.com/G-System/
__________________
Truth is a pathless land, so forget about those worn out trails and make your own.
Wailin' Tele is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 8th, 2013, 12:15 PM   #16 (permalink)
TDPRI Member
 
Rob123xyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 8
I gave up dealing with a field of pedals and wires crossed and hum and which one has the dead battery and never being sure of the right order (especially when doing chains and branches). I got a Digitech RP1000 and have been happy with it.
__________________
- Rob G.

I might not live forever, but I'm gonna die trying.
Rob123xyz is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 8th, 2013, 12:25 PM   #17 (permalink)
Doctor of Teleocity
 
Skully's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Glamorous NoHo
Posts: 10,972
Quote:
yeah so I need to drag a computer now to a gig so I can edit the settings on my Pod if they arent right.
No. You can do the heavy editing of the settings ahead of time and learn how to tweak them on the fly. If you have developed the proper selection of presets, it's unlikely that much editing will need to be done. Really, the only thing I can see that might need to be tweaked in this scenario is delay time. But if that's so important to the song, the drummer should be following you.
__________________
Bright Shiny Object

Skullysounds
Skully is online now   Reply With Quote

Old February 8th, 2013, 01:00 PM   #18 (permalink)
Doctor of Teleocity
 
KevinB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Jersey
Age: 63
Posts: 10,106
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoxcarBob View Post
Is yours a rack mount?
No, it's a floor model.

But it connects to a PC via USB, so I do all my editing there and store the results to the POD. I don't really use too many tones, so it's quite easy to select the ones I want to use via the footswitches.
KevinB is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 8th, 2013, 01:05 PM   #19 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 1,726
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob123xyz
I gave up dealing with a field of pedals and wires crossed and hum and which one has the dead battery and never being sure of the right order (especially when doing chains and branches).
They do make pedalboards & power supplies for that. ;)
CrisHendrix is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 8th, 2013, 01:55 PM   #20 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
P-Nutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Middle America
Posts: 469
I use both ...

... A POD XT Live for crunch with my wife's band, and separate-pedal board for my funk band.

Six of one, half dozen of the other ...

... BUT, when one pedal goes down on the board, I still gots the rest! When the XT, craps out ... well ... CRAP!

Peace!
__________________
Look over there! A dry ice factory! Good place to get some thinking done!
P-Nutz is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

/td>

» Random Photo for Guests
1983 Telecaster
Untitled Document



 


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2



IMPORTANT:Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult! No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
© TDPRI.COM 1999 - 2014 All rights reserved.