Demeter Tremulator Problem - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.
   

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Other Discussion Forums > The Stomp Box
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!
Notices

The Stomp Box Effects pedals and their effect on your playing.


Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com


Forum Jump


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old February 20th, 2012, 10:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Detroit-ish
Posts: 109
Demeter Tremulator Problem

I bought a Demeter Tremulator four or five years ago. Unfortunately, it's been a huge disappointment and I've never really used it.

It distorts the signal in an unpleasant way.

I bought it because I saw a guitarist I really like, Tony Gilkyson, using one in front of a BFSR. I assumed he preferred it to the built-in amp trem but perhaps that wasn't working. And I read that Ry Cooder was involved to some degree with the creation of the pedal and that sealed the deal.

The amps I primarily use have built-in trem so I've just let the Tremulator gather dust to this point. But there are two recent changes to my rig and I find the need for a trem pedal.

1. I recently got a 1953 Fender Deluxe that obviously pre-dates tremolo.

2. I've been playing a lot lately through two amps and using the stereo out from a Strymon El Capistan at the end of the chain. I absolutely love this sound; it's addicting. But if I want to use tremolo through both amps I need an external pedal.

I have tried using the trem on just one of the amps and that is very cool for some things. The trem on my 1960 Gibson GA18T has a really nice ethereal quality. But if I want just a good swampy mono trem I need it to work for both amps.

Anyway, hereís my question. Has anybody ever had this problem with the Tremulator? Itís like a boost along with a tremolo. I just want the trem. I donít want to have to adjust my volume every time I use it.

tele-vangelist is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 20th, 2012, 11:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
tjalla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 4,941
Have you tried it before the el cap?
tjalla is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 20th, 2012, 11:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
tjalla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 4,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjalla
Have you tried it before the el cap?
I think I misunderstood your dilemma. Only other thing incojlf suggest id to try placing buffered pedals eg boss tu-2 before and/or after the tremulator.
tjalla is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links   #
Sponsored posting
 

Old February 20th, 2012, 11:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Telefied
 
getbent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Benito County, California
Posts: 28,404


take a look here... when he has on and off, do you notice the volume difference?

second, the demo is done by a guy, a really fine player, over at the gear page...

you might hunt jack up and ask him.

I had one a long time ago, loved it, didn't need it when I got my tone king and flipped it for more than I bought it for, it is my favorite stomp trem..
__________________
"I'll refrain from commenting on your comment that you made right before saying that you'd refrain from commenting. "
-Jupiter
getbent is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 21st, 2012, 01:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Detroit-ish
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjalla View Post
I think I misunderstood your dilemma. Only other thing incojlf suggest id to try placing buffered pedals eg boss tu-2 before and/or after the tremulator.
I'll have to try removing the Tremulator from the pedal chain and go straight from guitar to Trem. to amp and see if it has anything to do with pedal order. Tomorrow. It's late. Thanks for the suggestion.
tele-vangelist is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 21st, 2012, 01:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
Twangasaurus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Perth
Age: 23
Posts: 1,380
Is it possible to run it at higher than 9v? Might give you the headroom you need to stop distorting.
Twangasaurus is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 21st, 2012, 01:22 AM   #7 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Detroit-ish
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by getbent View Post


take a look here... when he has on and off, do you notice the volume difference?
I'm not suggesting that all Tremulator's are defective or designed poorly. I only know that mine is borderline useless because there is such a significant and unwanted boost that goes along with the trem. Could that be intentional? Seems like a bad idea if it is.
tele-vangelist is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 21st, 2012, 01:24 AM   #8 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Detroit-ish
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twangasaurus View Post
Is it possible to run it at higher than 9v? Might give you the headroom you need to stop distorting.
You're not exactly dealing with Tesla here! How do I do that?
tele-vangelist is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 21st, 2012, 02:27 AM   #9 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
Twangasaurus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Perth
Age: 23
Posts: 1,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by tele-vangelist View Post
You're not exactly dealing with Tesla here! How do I do that?
Most pedals can handle up to 12v but it doesn't look like you can do that with the Demeter, that mini plug silliness would get in the way as well. Normally if you wanted to you would simply use a 12v adaptor (or even better, flick a switch on that fancy power supply your theoretically using, depending on what you own).
Sorry I got your hopes up .
Twangasaurus is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 21st, 2012, 02:50 AM   #10 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Detroit-ish
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twangasaurus View Post
Most pedals can handle up to 12v but it doesn't look like you can do that with the Demeter, that mini plug silliness would get in the way as well. Normally if you wanted to you would simply use a 12v adaptor (or even better, flick a switch on that fancy power supply your theoretically using, depending on what you own).
Sorry I got your hopes up .
For what it's worth I'm using the Voodoo Labs Pedal Power 2. Could I get a miniplug from Stompin' Ground that would connect the two?
tele-vangelist is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 21st, 2012, 03:03 AM   #11 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
Twangasaurus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Perth
Age: 23
Posts: 1,380
That could work. Give Demeter a shout and see if it runs on 12v.

Edit: Actually I'm wrong again, it seems that flipping the Dip Switch on the Voodoo Labs to supply 12v reduces the output to 60ma, according to the Demeter site it requires 100ma.
Twangasaurus is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 21st, 2012, 04:42 AM   #12 (permalink)
Poster Extraordinaire
 
1955's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 5,601
I had one, no problems

You may be overloading the input of the pedal depending on what's before it. Can't remember now, but there might be a trim pot to adjust the gain. Open it up if it's not on the left side of the pedal. If there's one it's probably a little white plastic thing you stick a small screwdriver in to adjust the level. I know the Compulator has this.

As far as I remember, it was possibly a little higher than unity gain, as a lot of trem pedals are made to bump up the perceived volume loss when engaged.

If you have hot pickups or are boosting a lot in front of it, it might just be clipping at the input. Mine was the mono one a few years ago. FWIW, the Marshall VT1 Vibratrem boosted and changed the EQ so much that it annoyed me, although in other respects it was great.
__________________
"If opportunity doesn't knock, build a door." Milton Berle
1955 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 21st, 2012, 02:57 PM   #13 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New York NY
Posts: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1955 View Post
I had one, no problems

You may be overloading the input of the pedal depending on what's before it. Can't remember now, but there might be a trim pot to adjust the gain. Open it up if it's not on the left side of the pedal. If there's one it's probably a little white plastic thing you stick a small screwdriver in to adjust the level. I know the Compulator has this.

As far as I remember, it was possibly a little higher than unity gain, as a lot of trem pedals are made to bump up the perceived volume loss when engaged.

If you have hot pickups or are boosting a lot in front of it, it might just be clipping at the input. Mine was the mono one a few years ago. FWIW, the Marshall VT1 Vibratrem boosted and changed the EQ so much that it annoyed me, although in other respects it was great.
If you go on their website and look at the manual it states that there is an intentional 1dB boost when using the trem. My Fulltone Supa Trem boost as well. It's never been a problem. Do you have a number of other pedals before it? Sometimes introducing a buffered signal will create a volume boost if you have some signal loss caused by a long cable run or numerous pedals placed in series.
Tech21NYC is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 22nd, 2012, 03:56 AM   #14 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Detroit-ish
Posts: 109
Tonight I Did a comparison test.

1. I plugged the guitar straight into the amp with no pedals.

2. Then through only the Tremulator.

3. Then placed the Tremulator back in its place in the chain but only engaged the trem.

There was no difference between 2 and 3. Both added a boost and an unpleasant distortion. I repeated this with two different amps at different volume levels, clean, edge of breakup, and in amp overdrive.

Tomorrow I'll experiment with the internal trim pot. I did that once before a year ago but may as well give it one more shot.
tele-vangelist is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


» Random Photo for Guests
5E3 initial power up

Untitled Document



 


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2



IMPORTANT:Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult! No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
© TDPRI.COM 1999 - 2014 All rights reserved.