Stereo Pedal - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.
   

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Other Discussion Forums > The Stomp Box
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!
Notices

The Stomp Box Effects pedals and their effect on your playing.


Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com


Forum Jump


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old January 26th, 2012, 12:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
teleman78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Miami, FL. USA
Posts: 384
Stereo Pedal

It just occurred to me.... is anyone making a simple stereo pedal?


OUT 2 < OUT 1 < VOL KNOB < Guitar IN


You can just set it up at the end of of your signal chain and have the option to go MONO or STEREO? Simple... one volume knob.

I know there are stereo choruses and other modulation FX but what if you already have all the FX you want and all you need is the stereo feature?

I know this might sound crazy for some but please bare with me on this...

teleman78 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 26th, 2012, 12:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Poster Extraordinaire
 
1955's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 6,602
A/B box'll work or you could just jumper the amps. The MKS Pedal Pad patch bay has a router and companies like Lehle make good ones. Then just adjust the volume on the amps for balance. If you have all mono pedals then at best you'll be runnning dual mono. If the pedals in toward the end of your chain have stereo inputs and outputs and seperate engines for each then that would be closer to stereo. Example: VT-1-TR-7-RV-5-amps
1955 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 26th, 2012, 03:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Poster Extraordinaire
 
1955's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 6,602
Ok I see I missed your question -

I don't know of a pedal that does exactly what you want.

What are you trying to get by having this type of pedal? There might be a workaround to get the same result.
__________________
"If opportunity doesn't knock, build a door." Milton Berle
1955 is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links   #
Sponsored posting
 

Old January 26th, 2012, 10:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: myakka city florida
Age: 55
Posts: 511
Sounds like an ABY box with a volume knob. I don't know why you would need a volume knob. Are you just asking this because this idea came to your mind, or are you trying to realy have a set up like this ? Just curious...
jebbo is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 26th, 2012, 12:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
tjalla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 4,941
Kinda like what you're asking... off the top of my head.

Barber Launch Pad
Zvex SHO
Boss LS-2
tjalla is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 26th, 2012, 12:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Raleigh, NC
Age: 50
Posts: 228
Boss FV-500L.

You might run into grounding issues.
Good ABY pedals have a ground lift switch.
Radial Big Shot ABY.


MM
MojoMonster is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 26th, 2012, 12:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
soulgeezer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sinatra's World
Posts: 769
I used one of these for years. It worked great and, well, lasted for years! (I only stopped using it, because I longer run two amps. The pedal is still working fine, as the friend I gave it to still uses it regularly.)



http://www.americanmusical.com/Item--i-MOR-ABY-LIST
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Pants View Post
Remember, it can't be both chewy and transparent.
soulgeezer is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 26th, 2012, 01:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
jeremypodom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pflugerville
Posts: 1,432
+1 for the Zvex SHO. It has two outputs and a volume knob =P plus a huge amount of boost.
jeremypodom is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 26th, 2012, 01:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Maryland
Posts: 412
Your guitar signal would still be mono unless you have something like a stereo 345 or Rickosound.
noah330 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 26th, 2012, 01:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
middy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Dallas, TX
Age: 43
Posts: 2,535
It's not really "stereo" unless there's some movement, or at least differentiation side to side... like a ping pong delay, stereo panning or chorusing, an effect on one side and not the other with some separation (cabinets pointed different directions?)
__________________
Restrictions apply. Results may vary.
middy is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 26th, 2012, 01:52 PM   #11 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
jeremypodom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pflugerville
Posts: 1,432
Quote:
Originally Posted by middy View Post
It's not really "stereo" unless there's some movement, or at least differentiation side to side... like a ping pong delay, stereo panning or chorusing, an effect on one side and not the other with some separation (cabinets pointed different directions?)
The OP mentioned having all the effects he needs already. I would presume he means that he has pedals that do stereo but require two inputs to do so.
jeremypodom is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 26th, 2012, 04:16 PM   #12 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Raleigh, NC
Age: 50
Posts: 228
The first thing the OP needs is two amps.
Or a stereo power amp and two sets of speakers.

That Boss pedal and the ABY switch will give you stereo separation.
Simply adjust each amp so that they sound different, just how different is up to you, and move them several feet apart. The further you move them away from each other, the more the stereo effect.
Optimally, they should be far enough apart that you form the vertex of a 90 angle.

Stereo effects pedals; chorus, reverb, delay, tremolo, rotary, will give you stereo as well, typically by providing both a modulated and an unmodulated signal(wet/dry), and if the pedal is well made, you might not have ground/phase issues.

Almost all stereo effects pedals will have a mono in.
Some will *only* have mono in.

MM
MojoMonster is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 26th, 2012, 08:11 PM   #13 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
teleman78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Miami, FL. USA
Posts: 384
Thanks for your replies guys! What I had in mind looks like the Zvex SHO (really cool stuff) however I'm not ready to spend $280.00 on it.

I guess the Barber Launch Pad at @ $139.00 could be something to consider.

Definitely the next best option for me at this time would be the Morley ABY @ $55.00 seems like a no brainer

Thanks again!

Last edited by teleman78; January 26th, 2012 at 09:19 PM.
teleman78 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 26th, 2012, 08:40 PM   #14 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
jeremypodom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pflugerville
Posts: 1,432
Quote:
Originally Posted by teleman78 View Post
Thanks for your replies guys! What i had in mind looks like the Zvex SHO (really cool stuff) however I'm not ready to spend $280.00 on it.

I guess the next best option would be the Morley ABY @ $55.00 seems like a no brainer

Thanks again!
Where on earth did you get $280 from? I got mine used for around $115. New is not too much more than that usually.
jeremypodom is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 26th, 2012, 09:19 PM   #15 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
teleman78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Miami, FL. USA
Posts: 384
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremypodom

Where on earth did you get $280 from? I got mine used for around $115. New is not too much more than that usually.
From their website
teleman78 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 26th, 2012, 09:21 PM   #16 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
jeremypodom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pflugerville
Posts: 1,432
Quote:
Originally Posted by teleman78 View Post
From their website
That's the list price. Here is the street price for a new one.

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/guita...70455000001000

Finding used ones isn't too terribly difficult.
jeremypodom is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 27th, 2012, 03:01 PM   #17 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
teleman78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Miami, FL. USA
Posts: 384
Hey Jeremypodom, so.. I've been reading about this ZVex SHO pedal and some call it a Compressor/Clean Boost.. can it act as a Compressor? Funny enough I've been also looking for a compressor pedal.

If indeed it does.. then that's a keeper because I can kill to birds with one stone.. Buy one pedal that for two purposes.. #1: Compressor, #2 Split my signal two stereo L/R.

Let me know your thoughts.
teleman78 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 27th, 2012, 03:12 PM   #18 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
jeremypodom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pflugerville
Posts: 1,432
Quote:
Originally Posted by teleman78 View Post
Hey Jeremypodom, so.. I've been reading about this ZVex SHO pedal and some call it a Compressor/Clean Boost.. can it act as a Compressor? Funny enough I've been also looking for a compressor pedal.

If indeed it does.. then that's a keeper because I can kill to birds with one stone.. Buy one pedal that for two purposes.. #1: Compressor, #2 Split my signal two stereo L/R.

Let me know your thoughts.
I've never heard of it as a compressor, and judging by the insides I would say the circuitry is far to simple... compressors have a lot more going on than boosters and buffers, I'm fairly sure. I don't know electronics at all actually but I've done a little research and it's a simple buffer/booster. If you set it to unity gain, it still will convert your signal from high impedance to a very low impedance. This means that you can use long cable runs after the SHO and lose less high end than you would normally. A lot of people use it for this reason, although it's a rather pricey alternative to a dedicated buffer (I have the T1M mini buffer, it's less than $50 and does a great job).

It does a good job for what it is, which is definitely not a compressor.

Someone else feel free to interject and prove me wrong.
jeremypodom is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 29th, 2012, 12:23 PM   #19 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
tjalla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 4,941
SHO not compressor.

Note that Launch pad has inverted polarity outputs - designed for boosting both channels on a blackface amp, or two channels which are reversed polarity. May or may not work for you.
tjalla is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


» Random Photo for Guests
Home-made quilted mahogany veneered tele
Untitled Document



 


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2



IMPORTANT:Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult! No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
© TDPRI.COM 1999 - 2014 All rights reserved.