Need help understanding Effects loop. - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.
   

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Other Discussion Forums > The Stomp Box
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!
Notices

The Stomp Box Effects pedals and their effect on your playing.


Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com


Forum Jump


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old November 23rd, 2011, 06:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
KellyCaster71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Humble, Texas
Posts: 400
Need help understanding Effects loop.

Forgive me for for not fully understanding effects loops. I normally just chain my effects from the guitar and plug straight into an input. But my Blues Deluxe does have an effects loop. I'm going to be running a Tubescreamer, Tonebender, delay and Compressor. Is their an advantage going through the effects loop?
If so, how do I do it. Thanks in advance.

KellyCaster71 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old November 23rd, 2011, 06:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
smoss469's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 1,796
A lot of people put delays and modulations (Flange, Chorus, Phaser etc) in the loop.

I don't have a problem running everything on 1 amp up front, however the other amp I use, has a loop. I put stuff in there from time to time. Some people say there's a difference, others don't.
smoss469 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old November 23rd, 2011, 08:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: los ángeles, Ca
Age: 33
Posts: 314
What he said. Screamer, Fuzz, Compressor to the input of the amp, delay through the FX Loop. Some amps FX loops are better than others.
Lazloryder is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links   #
Sponsored posting
 

Old November 23rd, 2011, 08:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
KellyCaster71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Humble, Texas
Posts: 400
So I just plug the effects pedals to the effects loop and don't run my guitar through them?
KellyCaster71 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old November 23rd, 2011, 09:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Appalachian Mtns
Posts: 869
I think the difference in many cases is the effects loop is intended to be in parallel with your main sound, meaning you can mix your wet and dry signal. this is at least true on some amps, maybe not all. so you can have pedals in your effects loop and have the mix turned down an it would be like no effects were involved, then as you turn up the loop signal it mixes in with, but doesn't turn down, your dry signal. Is that clear as mud? LOL I can try to explain it again if i am confusing. and I'm pretty sure that some amps don't offer an effects loop that an be adjusted in this way.
jmcfender1 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old November 23rd, 2011, 09:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
KellyCaster71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Humble, Texas
Posts: 400
I think I get what you are saying. I don't think my Blues Deluxe has that capability unless it's integrated into the master volume knob. I'll just fiddle around with it and see what happens. Thanks for the help.
KellyCaster71 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old November 23rd, 2011, 09:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
Twangasaurus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Perth
Age: 24
Posts: 1,380
Yeah your Blues Deluxe has a series effects loop not the parallel type described above. Essentially what your effects loop is for is if your using the drive on your amp in addition to various modulation effects. Putting your modulation pedals in the loop means they are placed after the amps drive (sort of treating your amps drive and preamp like a pedal in the chain) making sure that they don't get muddied.
As for pedals sounding and behaving differently in the effects loop that is absolutely true for some pretty simple reasons. They will sound different because the pedals placed in the loop will not be run through the preamp and so more of the pedals voicing will shine through and less of the amps. This is neither a good or a bad thing, it's just whatever you prefer. Now, pedals behave differently in effects loops because of the high impedance. Some pedals just plain old don't like it, others are designed specifically for it. Again, you sort of just have to find out for yourself, it will be on a pedal by pedal basis.

For the record I never bothered with effects loops.
Twangasaurus is offline   Reply With Quote

Old November 23rd, 2011, 10:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
Twangasaurus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Perth
Age: 24
Posts: 1,380
Sorry, to answer your original question:
If you use the drive on your amp and delay at the same time then yes, could be a good idea to put just the delay in the loop. The rest should be fine.
Twangasaurus is offline   Reply With Quote

Old November 23rd, 2011, 10:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Appalachian Mtns
Posts: 869
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twangasaurus View Post

For the record I never bothered with effects loops.
me neither, too many cables to mess with
jmcfender1 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old November 24th, 2011, 05:16 AM   #10 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fullerton CA
Posts: 562
Only the delay really belongs in the loop.
1300 E Valencia is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

/td>

» Random Photo for Guests
Telecaster CIJ
Untitled Document



 


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2



IMPORTANT:Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult! No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
© TDPRI.COM 1999 - 2014 All rights reserved.