The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > The DIY Channel > Shock Brother's DIY Amps
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!
Notices

Shock Brother's DIY Amps Building or modding your amp? Then use this forum to discuss the process and show your pride and joy.

Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com

Forum Jump

Old January 4th, 2014, 07:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
TDPRI Member

5F6a bassman build Help! (first build)

Hi guys

Decided to build myself an amp. The 5F6a bassman. Have looked at a few layouts on the web and just have a few questions if anyone will be nice enough to help me out. Im a carpenter by trade and will be building a super nice cab when its done so will post pics along the way! Ive posted the layout pic im using below.

questions:
Are the diodes and cap needed on the rectifier tube? if so what sort of diodes are they?

The 25k bias pot with 22k resistor in series is shown here. Can i directly replace those with a 50k bias pot ans 15k resistor??

The filter caps show 2x22uf and 2x20uf, some layouts show 4x20uf...will there be any difference??
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	5F6A-BassmanCeriatone.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	69.3 KB
ID:	213448  

floorboards is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 4th, 2014, 08:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Poster Extraordinaire

Thanks for reposting here, it will get more attention.
Glen Smith is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 4th, 2014, 08:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Tele-Meister

Here is a discussion on the diodes for the 5Y3 socket. The discussion is based on a 5E3 diagram but the content still applies.

http://www.tdpri.com/forum/shock-bro...omponents.html

Specifically the diodes are 1N4007.
Killin5 is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links   #
Sponsored posting

Old January 5th, 2014, 01:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Tele-Meister