Design and build my own quiet amp - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > The DIY Channel > Shock Brother's DIY Amps
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!
Notices

Shock Brother's DIY Amps Building or modding your amp? Then use this forum to discuss the process and show your pride and joy.

Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com

Forum Jump

Old July 25th, 2013, 07:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
TDPRI Member

Design and build my own quiet amp

Hi there,

It's my first time posting here though I've been visiting for a while. I'm considering my next valve amp build and would appreciate any advice and thoughts folks here might have. My spec is as follows:

* Design, layout, source parts, & build it myself. I'm really keen to work through all the phases myself as a learning process. I realize that inevitably I will likely borrow all the parts of the design from the classics, but I'd like to try to learn why the particular parts go together as they do.

* Must be quiet! Even a Champ is too loud for playing in my flat with my wife and baby asleep. Considering something like the Firefly 12AU7 as the output. What are my options for low power output tubes?

* A bit of dirt might be nice, not totally clean.

* Tone controls

* Spring reverb

* I'll build it as a head with a separate speaker cab. Physically small a plus.

* I'm not sure what my chassis options are. I don't have access to equipment to form an enclosure but If I used a Hammond style enclosure I could punch my own holes for valves. Not sure about transformers, though.

* I'm based in UK, so will prefer UK or EU suppliers. UK power.

I have previously built a Princeton Reverb kit as part of a course and I build effects pedals so I have some experience.