new guy - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > The DIY Channel > Shock Brother's DIY Amps
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!
Notices

Shock Brother's DIY Amps Building or modding your amp? Then use this forum to discuss the process and show your pride and joy.

Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com

Forum Jump

Old February 10th, 2013, 11:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Tele-Meister

new guy

Hi,

I have been lurking here for awhile now. I am planning to build a telecaster, but it is too dang cold in the workshop, so I gotta wait. I have been looking over kits for amps and am leaning towards a 5E3, probably boothill.

I am just learning acoustic, also want to go electric, and have been working with wood, metal, simple electronics since the early 70's. I built a couple heathkit deals back in the day. So I have never played and don't know anything about electric guitars and amps, other than I want to build a guitar and amp. I am progressing well, I think, with the acoustic guitar.

I have been reading a lot and watching youtube vids and checking out this site for awhile now. I will never be a performer, so I don't need a huge amp. I was thinking just buy a blues jr at first then started thinking if I build a 5e3 that gives me something to work on while it is cold, and when it warms I can build the cabinet also.

I have a question on 5e3. I saw a series of vids on tube amps and the guy was raving about the blues jr having master volume. The 5e3 as far as I can tell does not have a master volume. Is this something that would be a drawback when comparing blues jr to 5e3? Can master volume be added without messing things up?

Thanks for any input you may have,

Old February 10th, 2013, 11:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted

hang on someone will be here shortly