Wire awg question? - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.
   

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > The DIY Channel > Shock Brother's DIY Amps
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!

Shock Brother's DIY Amps Building or modding your amp? Then use this forum to discuss the process and show your pride and joy.


Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Advertise on the TDPRI Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com


Forum Jump


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old February 1st, 2013, 02:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
TDPRI Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 13
Wire awg question?

I'm slowly buying the parts to build a tube amp, and I was wondering about wire size. The amp calls for 20 awg, and I found some 14 awg. Would that make a difference. The in mind is the MOD 102. THANKS

timcrawlin is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 1st, 2013, 06:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal
Age: 33
Posts: 159
I think you will find 14awg to be too thick. I use 20awg solid core everywhere. You can use 18awg on heaters and 22awg everywhere else but I find it is easier to buy all one size and 20awg is big enough.
guiltless is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 1st, 2013, 07:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
printer2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Canada
Age: 54
Posts: 4,932
Even 22 gauge would be fine for heaters.
printer2 is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links   #
Sponsored posting
 

Old February 1st, 2013, 08:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maryland
Age: 53
Posts: 2,874
Even 18ga gives you trouble in some sockets. 22ga will do everything you need in your MOD. In bigger amps with big power tubes and lots of preamp tubes, 22ga can be to light, but I don't recall a common guitar amp that 20ga would not do everything safely.
celeste is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 1st, 2013, 09:23 AM   #5 (permalink)
Doctor of Teleocity
 
telex76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Fort Worth,Tx.
Age: 63
Posts: 12,420
14 awg would be very hard to work with. wouldn't thread through the pins on some sockets.
Only use for 14 awg would be speaker wires possibly.
telex76 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 1st, 2013, 11:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
Poster Extraordinaire
 
jhundt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Netherlands
Age: 60
Posts: 7,704
@Celeste - the wire they are selling here in Europe for amp building is 24 gauge. I guess everyone is happy with it. It sounds pretty skinny to me, but then I always used old cloth-covered pre-tinned stranded wire that I stripped out of discarded TV sets. Do you think there is any problem with this stuff for an amp in the 5E3 range? I don't plan to use it for the heaters, I'll probably use 18 or 20 for those.
jhundt is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 1st, 2013, 11:56 AM   #7 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
Dave1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leicestershire
Age: 51
Posts: 920
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhundt View Post
@Celeste - the wire they are selling here in Europe for amp building is 24 gauge. I guess everyone is happy with it. It sounds pretty skinny to me, but then I always used old cloth-covered pre-tinned stranded wire that I stripped out of discarded TV sets. Do you think there is any problem with this stuff for an amp in the 5E3 range? I don't plan to use it for the heaters, I'll probably use 18 or 20 for those.
jhundt,

I have found an AWG to metric conversion chart here: http://www.technick.net/public/code/..._awg_to_metric

You can look at the differences between 22 and 24 AWG, in a format you are more likely get the hang of and therefore hopefully reach a satisfactory descision
__________________
"Oh, but you can't expect to wield supreme executive power just because some watery tart threw a sword at you."
Dave1234 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 1st, 2013, 12:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
motor_city_tele's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: motor city
Posts: 1,745
http://www.ebay.com/itm/200463224261...84.m1438.l2649


I bought one of these. After six amps I still seem to have most of it left.
All wire is new.
__________________
You're gonna need a bigger boat!
motor_city_tele is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 1st, 2013, 12:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
TDPRI Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: California
Posts: 97
14 AWG is gigantic for wiring an amp. Like the others said, 18-22 is typical. I usually don't use 18 even for heaters. 24 seems a bit small, I've never used it for amps.

Also pay attention to the other attributes...solid vs. stranded and the coating.

Solid core will keep its shape when you bend it, etc. Stranded won't, but is more flexible. Teflon coating is good if you are inexperienced with a soldering iron because it won't burn easily. Some PVC coatings will melt readily if you keep the iron near it.
rsi106 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 1st, 2013, 03:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
Poster Extraordinaire
 
jhundt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Netherlands
Age: 60
Posts: 7,704
@Dave1234 - thanks for the link; that's exactly the same chart that I was looking at when I realized that the wire they were selling was 24 gauge. I haven't read anything in the newspaper about home-built amps burning up, so I guess it's OK.
jhundt is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 1st, 2013, 03:48 PM   #11 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
Dave1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leicestershire
Age: 51
Posts: 920
My 5e3 is all 22awg apart from the heaters, which are 18. I think it is generously overrated in this particular instance as I am running stock: 2 x 6v6, 1 x 12ay7and 1 x 12ax7. Not exactly pushing it hard?
__________________
"Oh, but you can't expect to wield supreme executive power just because some watery tart threw a sword at you."
Dave1234 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 1st, 2013, 08:09 PM   #12 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
printer2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Canada
Age: 54
Posts: 4,932
Even with big beefy tubes the most current you would run in an amp circuit is 200mA. The 24 gauge would hardly notice it at the length the wire is. You could get away with it also for tube heaters if you did not daisy chain the heaters but ran to them individually. Even a couple of preamp tubes together would be fine. A good table to have.

http://www.powerstream.com/Wire_Size.htm
printer2 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 1st, 2013, 08:27 PM   #13 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
Dave1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leicestershire
Age: 51
Posts: 920
Quote:
Originally Posted by printer2 View Post
Even with big beefy tubes the most current you would run in an amp circuit is 200mA. The 24 gauge would hardly notice it at the length the wire is. You could get away with it also for tube heaters if you did not daisy chain the heaters but ran to them individually. Even a couple of preamp tubes together would be fine. A good table to have.

http://www.powerstream.com/Wire_Size.htm
That is one seriously useful table, thanks for posting Printer!

Sent from my iPad using TDPRI
__________________
"Oh, but you can't expect to wield supreme executive power just because some watery tart threw a sword at you."
Dave1234 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 1st, 2013, 09:52 PM   #14 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
printer2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Canada
Age: 54
Posts: 4,932
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave1234 View Post
That is one seriously useful table, thanks for posting Printer!

Sent from my iPad using TDPRI
Not a bad irea to derate the capacities shown a bit for the heat in an amp. Still it gives a good reference.
printer2 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 1st, 2013, 10:12 PM   #15 (permalink)
Poster Extraordinaire
 
BobbyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Naytahwaush MN
Posts: 7,027
I've been useing wire salvage from organs and a Univox accordian tone generator. None of it's cloth covered and some of it's stranded but tinned so it kind of acts like solid wire.
I have used the cloth stuf Weber sells but it's a royal pain to strip.
BobbyZ is online now   Reply With Quote

Old February 1st, 2013, 11:15 PM   #16 (permalink)
TDPRI Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 13
Thanks alot Motor_City for the link. Just bought them, and the thing is I can use the wire for mor then just amp building.
timcrawlin is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 1st, 2013, 11:46 PM   #17 (permalink)
Poster Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Posts: 5,412
I prefer to use either 18 or 20 solid core wire.
Way easier to solder IMHO, than stranded wire.
6942 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 2nd, 2013, 11:40 AM   #18 (permalink)
Doctor of Teleocity
 
telex76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Fort Worth,Tx.
Age: 63
Posts: 12,420
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobbyZ View Post
I've been useing wire salvage from organs and a Univox accordian tone generator. None of it's cloth covered and some of it's stranded but tinned so it kind of acts like solid wire.
I have used the cloth stuf Weber sells but it's a royal pain to strip.
Not sure I understand what you mean when you say the cloth wire is hard to strip. You know its called pushback wire? You just cut it to length and push the cloth back from where you want to make the connection and solder. You don't strip it, I'm sure its a mess if you try to.

Sorry, if we aren't talking about the same thing.
telex76 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 2nd, 2013, 11:55 AM   #19 (permalink)
Poster Extraordinaire
 
BobbyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Naytahwaush MN
Posts: 7,027
Tolex have you had any luck doing that with the Weber wire?

I don't know if I tried to push it back now or not it's been a few years. But I have heard alot of guys hate the wire Weber sells. Maybe they're all as dumb as me IDK.
BobbyZ is online now   Reply With Quote

Old February 2nd, 2013, 05:08 PM   #20 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
guitjopicka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Mill Bay, BC
Posts: 260
That's because weber's isn't true push back cloth wire. You do have to strip it with super sharp strippers. I actually keep a lighter around to singe off the frayed ends... Probably taboo... Bit it's what I've done. I don't plan on usuing cloth wire anymore unless someone is looking for it specifically though. Teflon all the way!
guitjopicka is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


» Random Photo for Guests
My custom guitar
Untitled Document



 


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2



IMPORTANT:Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult! No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
© TDPRI.COM 1999 - 2014 All rights reserved.