picked up clicking noise on PC - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Other Discussion Forums > Recording In Progress
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!
Notices

Recording In Progress Studio and Home Studio recording forum for discussion of tips, techniques, gear and setup.

Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com

Forum Jump

Old January 14th, 2013, 09:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's

picked up clicking noise on PC

during recording and playback

intermittent with phones or monitors

I have been fighting it now for a few months

WIN XP Sp2 maxed out ram 4 gig which is actually 3.2

M Audio Delta 24/96 ASIO

PT 8

Certainly most everything is plugged into the same outlets

no wireless

lots of AC plugs and outlet boxes

unplugged many items doesn't help

annoying..it's not in the recordings

could be a cable..of course...

the one common item I didn't check is the phones amp which drives both the phones and the monitors. I'll do that today

all suggestions considered..even hanging myself.

Last edited by T Prior; January 14th, 2013 at 10:31 AM.
T Prior is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 14th, 2013, 09:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's

If its not in the recordings then no prob right?
If you are at low buffer settings when tracking then your pc may not be keeping up. In the playback engine there is a clickable dialog box that says "may cause clicks and pops" you can investigate. Again it may be performance related: no seperate hd for your audio files or processor overload. Go to view>CPU usage, anything above 60% will start giving issues soon.
winny pooh is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 14th, 2013, 09:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's

ok so I swapped headphone amps...just happened to buy a second one last week...