New USB interface - looking for suggestions! - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Other Discussion Forums > Recording In Progress
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!
Notices

Recording In Progress Studio and Home Studio recording forum for discussion of tips, techniques, gear and setup.

Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com

Forum Jump

Old December 2nd, 2012, 07:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Tele-Meister

New USB interface - looking for suggestions!

As the title suggests, I'm looking for a new audio interface.

I'm not a complete newbie to this, I used to work with a Motu 828MkII but that broke down about two years ago. For a number of reasons, I haven't really done anything in terms of home recording / producing for those past two years but I'm planning on changing that. As you might guess, I'm not really up to speed when it comes to the current market for audio interfaces.

I have a PC and a laptop, both are new, run Windows 7, are pretty powerful and almost identical in terms of hardware (with the exception of a different graphics card), both of them have USB 3.0, neither has a Firewire connection. I'm looking for a USB interface to allow me to work with both systems.

I used to work with Fruity Loops and a number of plugins but I want to change that. A good friend of mine who runs a recording studio is using Sonar and he took his time to show me around that software. In the future, I would like to have the option to take my projects to his studio.

The two most important applications for a new interface would be:
- Recording guitar (and bass), mainly to save my ideas for new songs
- working with software synths etc. - I like to dabble in electronic music, trip hop, etc.

I'm looking for an interface which offers
- good quality converters