Mic recommendations for Acoustic and Vocal - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Other Discussion Forums > Recording In Progress
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!
Notices

Recording In Progress Studio and Home Studio recording forum for discussion of tips, techniques, gear and setup.

Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com

Forum Jump

Old December 1st, 2012, 01:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted

Mic recommendations for Acoustic and Vocal

Hi all,

I'm quite new to this home recording thing, and I'm looking to get a good quality microphone for recording original acoustic guitar parts as well as vocals. I actually have a Shure Beta 58 which I think is probably fine for vocals alone, but I'm leaning more towards an all around versatile mic that could pick up a live room performance of either myself alone, or possibly me and one or two more players at the same time. Would an omni-directional type be most suitable???
Am I asking too much??? Sorry if this is an unrealistic request, but I quite like some of the natural room sound I hear in certain recordings

I'm thinking approx 500 bucks as my max

Any help is greatly appreciated!!!

Cheers,
Jethro

Old December 1st, 2012, 02:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's

You would probably like to have a "condenser" mike that runs on Phantom power..[active]. I don't know a lot about the brands, but others here know a lot, I'm sure.
Rod Parsons is online now   Reply With Quote

Old December 1st, 2012, 07:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's

I've had a Rode NT1 for many years and it does exactly what you seem to be wanting. It does need phantom power but it records vocals and acoustic guitars very well.