P90s vs Jazzmaster pickups - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Other Discussion Forums > Just Pickups
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!
Notices

Just Pickups Forum for discussing guitar pickups.

Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com

Forum Jump

Old September 9th, 2012, 05:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Tele-Holic

P90s vs Jazzmaster pickups

Can somebody describe the differences between the sounds of P90s and Jazzmaster pickups? I have a Marauder with a Jazzmaster pickup in the neck that sounds wonderful, but I've only played P90 equipped guitars once or twice.

bugo is offline   Reply With Quote

Old September 9th, 2012, 07:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted

I don't know the difference, but do know there are many variations out there. I picked this one up the other day, don't know the specs on it but do know its the best sounding P90 set up I've ever heard.
So many options, so little funds...:-)

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120909_182353.jpg
Views:	109
Size:	29.9 KB
ID:	143060
lineboat is offline   Reply With Quote

Old September 9th, 2012, 07:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Former Member
Friend of Leo's

The 6 individual pole pieces on a Jazzmaster pickup, are all magnets. The P 90 has a magnet bar inside with 6 adjustable poles that feed the string vibration down to the magnet bar.

The Jazzmaster pickups are a bit brighter and more articulate than a P 90.
musicmatty is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links   #
Sponsored posting

Old September 10th, 2012, 05:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted