Any Way I Can Use These Rio Grande's For A 4 Way Switch? - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.
   

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Other Discussion Forums > Just Pickups
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!

Just Pickups Forum for discussing guitar pickups.


Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com


Forum Jump


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old November 30th, 2010, 05:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
JaySwear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Age: 26
Posts: 546
Any Way I Can Use These Rio Grande's For A 4 Way Switch?

I've got a set of Rio Grande Dirty Harry pickups (that I'm so excited to try ). However, I noticed that the Rio Grande diagram I've downloaded shows that the pickups only have a hot (white) and ground (black). I'm not very knowledgeable about wiring. I can follow a simple diagram and thats about it. I'd love some help. Is the ground wired to the switch in the 4 way diagram? I was sure it was not, and thats what's really throwing me off here.

Any help is greatly appreciated! Thanks
-Jay

Four Way Switch Diagram:


Rio Grande Telecaster Diagram:


EDIT: I realize the Rio Grande is for a 3 way switch. What I want to know is if it's possible to wire the Rio Grande's in a 4 way switch, and if so how. Thanks again!

JaySwear is offline   Reply With Quote

Old November 30th, 2010, 06:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
birddog01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Michigan, in the palm of the mitten
Age: 59
Posts: 1,097
I don't know what the problem is. Wire it up just like the top diagram shows and you will be fine. You do have the 4 way switch and components on the list in that diagram don't you?
__________________
Wally

Birddogs, homegrown tomatoes and the blues
to me it don't get much better than that
birddog01 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old November 30th, 2010, 06:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
JaySwear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Age: 26
Posts: 546
Yes, sir! The part that completely threw me is that I've never seen a ground wire connected to the switch. I was so sure that the 4 way switch diagram was showing a north start and north end, instead of a hot and ground.

I also realized I've put this in the wrong spot. Moderators, please feel free to delete or move the thread. Thanks again!
JaySwear is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links   #
Sponsored posting
 

Old November 30th, 2010, 07:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Telefied
 
Mark Davis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Bakersfield Ca.
Age: 64
Posts: 31,448
You need a 3 wire neck pickup if you want to use all the features of a 4 way switch.

You can add one yourself or have a pickup winder do it for ya.
__________________
I'm so blind my seeing eye dog needs glasses.
Mark Davis is offline   Reply With Quote

Old November 30th, 2010, 07:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Telefied
 
Mark Davis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Bakersfield Ca.
Age: 64
Posts: 31,448
http://www.specialtyguitars.com/kits/4way_diagram.pdf
__________________
I'm so blind my seeing eye dog needs glasses.
Mark Davis is offline   Reply With Quote

Old November 30th, 2010, 09:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Poster Extraordinaire
 
sjtalon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Upper Peninsula of Michigan
Age: 55
Posts: 8,274
The neck pup doesn't have a cover.

Just wire it as it is per the 4 w diagram there, colors are correct ....... black is negative, white is positive, then, go ahead, "MAKE MY DAY"


Sorry Mark 'ol buddy, the Strat sold !!!! FINALLY
sjtalon is offline   Reply With Quote

Old November 30th, 2010, 11:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
2blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Katy Texas
Age: 57
Posts: 163
I just sold an Esquire with Rio Grandes's and a 4-way, you're gonna luv it!
2blue is offline   Reply With Quote

Old November 30th, 2010, 11:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
JaySwear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Age: 26
Posts: 546
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2blue View Post
I just sold an Esquire with Rio Grandes's and a 4-way, you're gonna luv it!
thats great to hear! my original plan was to make this one into a nashville telecaster with a middle pickup as well as the other 2, but if this 4 way switch does all i've heard it does then i'll probably scrap that idea and go with the good old 2 pickup telecaster system. i'll try the nashville tele style for a while and see how often i really use that middle pickup.
JaySwear is offline   Reply With Quote

Old December 1st, 2010, 10:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
2blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Katy Texas
Age: 57
Posts: 163
traditional nashville wiring (5-way) will not give you that series wired sound that you get from the 4-way. This is a great blues/rock, alt country sound.
2blue is offline   Reply With Quote

Old December 2nd, 2010, 01:23 AM   #10 (permalink)
Nub
Tele-Afflicted
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,978
My #1 for 10 years had Muy Grandes with a 4-way switch... worked great & sounded fantastic.
Nub is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


» Random Photo for Guests
Texas twangcaster
Untitled Document



 


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2



IMPORTANT:Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult! No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
© TDPRI.COM 1999 - 2014 All rights reserved.