The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.
fender telecaster electric guitar discussion forum
Make a donation with PayPal Telecaster Guitars at Ebay

Supporting Vendors
Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Tommy Guitars Warmoth.com
advertise on the tdpri 


   

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Administration & Support Issues > Forum Problems & Issues
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!

Notices

Forum Problems & Issues Not for general discussion. Post only problems & questions concerning the website for the administrator. NO GEAR POSTS HERE.

Forum Jump


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old July 7th, 2006, 07:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Portland, Maine
Posts: 284
Virus in Message from Webmaster

Paul:

I just opened my e-mail to find that my ISP (gwi.net) had blocked an e-mail containing a virus from "TDPRI Webmaster." The detail is as follows:

From: "Webmaster" <webmaster@tdpri.com>
Subject: Judith
Virus: W32/Bagle.fd!pwdzip

I had the e-mail removed from the ISP holding site without opeining it. I don't know if someone's hacked TDPRI, but I thought you'd want to know about it. Thanks.

Jim

jkats is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Ads   #
Sponsored posting
 
 
Join Date: March, 2003
Location: Forum HQ
Posts: N/A
Sponsored by...

Google is online  
Old July 7th, 2006, 10:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Administrator
Poster Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: TDPRILAND
Posts: 9,651
Here's how viruses work.

They get into some TDPRI member's computer. Since every single member of the TDPRI has received email from webmaster@tdpri.com my email address in stored in all 10,000+ member's computers.

The virus picks up, at random, emails addresses from it's host computer's list of email addresses on that computer and sends itself out "from" the addresses on that computer.

The email from the virus pretends to be "from" some other computer. Otherwise you could simply do as you did and notify the sender of the virus that they have a virus. Virus writers are about a million times smarter than that.

So, that email was from one of the 10,000+ people here on the TDPRI but NOT from me, the TDPRI or our server.

That's just how computer viruses work.
TDPRI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2006, 07:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
jlrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Marion, NC
Age: 46
Posts: 1,335
Today I received two emails that were addressed as a "renewal notice" from "webmaster@tdpri.com". Is this something new or is it the same as you mentioned here?

Thanks.
__________________
Facebook
jlrich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2006, 11:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Administrator
Poster Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: TDPRILAND
Posts: 9,651
I think if you read those, they are specific renewal notices for ads you have in the Classifed section. Yes???
TDPRI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2006, 08:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
jlrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Marion, NC
Age: 46
Posts: 1,335
DUH!

Thanks Paul, I'm a little leary to open emails that are out of the ordinary, even if they do come from a familiar site.
__________________
Facebook
jlrich is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump




IMPORTANT:Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult! No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
© TDPRI.COM 1999 - 2012 All rights reserved.