The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.
fender telecaster electric guitar discussion forum
Make a donation with PayPal Telecaster Guitars at Ebay

Supporting Vendors
Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Tommy Guitars Warmoth.com
advertise on the tdpri 


   

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Administration & Support Issues > Forum Problems & Issues
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!

Notices

Forum Problems & Issues Not for general discussion. Post only problems & questions concerning the website for the administrator. NO GEAR POSTS HERE.

Forum Jump


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old July 4th, 2012, 06:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
zimbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,336
Scammer in Classifieds

Response to my classified ad on TDPRI:

George Washburn 1897

Hello, I came across your ad and I'll like to know the following questions regarding the ad. Q#1. How long have you

owned it? Q#2. a) Have you owned it from new? b) If not how many previous owner? Q#3. Why are you selling it? Q#4.

In your opinion, what sort of condition is it? Q#5. Any available photo? Q#6. How much are you asking for it? Q#7.

Do you accept a Cashier Check Or Personal check as a mode of payment. Hope to read from you soon. Provide your name

and address to issue payment. Regards.E-mail me back stevencole690@yahoo.com

__________________
What song is it you want to hear?

Last edited by TDPRI; July 5th, 2012 at 10:25 AM.
zimbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Ads   #
Sponsored posting
 
 
Join Date: March, 2003
Location: Forum HQ
Posts: N/A
Sponsored by...

Google is online  
Old July 4th, 2012, 06:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
sacizob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Middlesex County, MA
Posts: 2,215
I get those responses from Craig's List. After you answer all thier questions they'll ask you a bunch more. Don't bother!
__________________
Buddy Holly Lives!
sacizob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 4th, 2012, 07:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Watertown, CT
Age: 46
Posts: 855
Scam, dont even waste your time with a reply.
djphelan01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 4th, 2012, 08:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
13ontheB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bury UK
Posts: 1,062
They want to pay with a cheque for much more than your asking price and want you to send them the amount for the over payment,you are then out of pocket when the cheque they sent you bounces. plus you lost the guitar.
__________________
BB
13ontheB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 4th, 2012, 08:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
djalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: canada
Age: 38
Posts: 629
Absolutely a scam. Don't give them pictures either, they'll use them to post scam ads back on c'list.

Delete, block 'em, report him as Spam, move on.

You'll get a decent buyer here...be patient.....
__________________
played the at Ryman once
...for 2 minutes
djalt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 4th, 2012, 08:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
zimbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,336
Paul will have to bounce that guy.

I wonder why they eventually always need the serial number?
__________________
What song is it you want to hear?
zimbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2012, 01:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
Poster Extraordinaire
 
Slow Reflexes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Willamette and Columbia
Posts: 6,333
So they can "prove" they have the guitar to sell, I'd guess.
__________________
I seem to be having tremendous difficulty with my lifestyle...
Slow Reflexes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2012, 09:55 AM   #8 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
Jack FFR1846's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Hopkinton, MA
Posts: 1,481
Notice how they never actually mention what the "item" is?

interesting
Jack FFR1846 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2012, 10:24 AM   #9 (permalink)
Administrator
Poster Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: TDPRILAND
Posts: 9,679
Appears to be a scammer. He lists "washington" as his location, but his IP address is a private IP from a company in Los Angeles. BUT, his actual location is Makati, Philippines.

We banned him and reported his scam to his IP host.
TDPRI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2012, 11:10 AM   #10 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
Jack FFR1846's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Hopkinton, MA
Posts: 1,481
Once you identify someone as a scammer, agree on a price and allow them to send you their bogus certified check. When they contact you again, tell them that the envelope was empty. This costs them money. Eventually, they will give up. If everyone did this, it would start costing them a lot of money.
Jack FFR1846 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2012, 02:23 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Friend of Leo's
 
Chris S.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Near TELE-Town (Wash. DC)
Posts: 4,898
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack FFR1846 View Post
Once you identify someone as a scammer, agree on a price and allow them to send you their bogus certified check. When they contact you again, tell them that the envelope was empty. This costs them money. Eventually, they will give up. If everyone did this, it would start costing them a lot of money.
NO, don't do this. These scammers are criminals. Why would you possibly want to give your name, address, phone number and email address to a criminal? CS
__________________
"I go online sometimes, but everyone's spelling is really bad. It's depressing." – Tara, from "Buffy the Vampire Slayer"

"It was born at the junction of form and function." – Bill Kirchen, from "Hammer of the Honky-Tonk Gods"
Chris S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2012, 07:14 PM   #12 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Age: 35
Posts: 1,566
Still, we want to know... have you owned it from new? Ha!
JBennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2012, 07:31 PM   #13 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
PapaLion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: SW AZ
Posts: 1,061
Bennett +1
And to that end Bennett we should ask if he'd take a personal check... I can vouch for me, I'm zactlee who I am, I'm sure of it... well pretty sure.

Every time I use CL I expect crazeee, and I'm rarely disappointed.
__________________
If all else fails... buy more tools
PapaLion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2012, 10:41 PM   #14 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
djalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: canada
Age: 38
Posts: 629
Craiglist policy states deal with someone local. I have had good results with:
1. Ignore all emails from a hotmail or yahoo address.
2. Ask potential buyers for a phone number. No phone number, no further communication.
3. Call them from a private or blocked number and ensure they are local and not loco.
4. Follow your gut. If you don't like what your hearing over the phone, hang up.
__________________
played the at Ryman once
...for 2 minutes
djalt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump




IMPORTANT:Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult! No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
© TDPRI.COM 1999 - 2012 All rights reserved.