The Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world. Information on electric guitars, amps, effects, and more. With guitar photo galleries, Free guitar Classified Ads, guitar reviews, music and guitar articles, guitar resources and more.
fender telecaster electric guitar discussion forum and galleries and classifieds and reviews.
Make a donation with PayPal Telecaster Guitars at Ebay Musician's Friend Stupid Deal of the Day

Supporting Vendors
Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence El Dorado Guitar Accessories Lace Music Products Acme Guitar Works GuitarSale.com Hahn Guitars Warmoth.com
advertise on the tdpri 
 

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Main Telecaster Forum > Forum Problems & Issues

Notices

Forum Problems & Issues Not for general discussion. Post only problems & questions concerning the website for the moderators to review.

Forum Jump


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old August 4th, 2009, 09:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
NEW MEMBER!
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4
How to report attempted scammer?

Hey:

I was wondering how to do this. Had an attempted scam throught the classifieds. Thanks All.

TonyF

TonyF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2009, 01:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
TDPRI Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: birmingham, alabama
Age: 44
Posts: 44
I had the same thing happen to me. They sent me a 4800.00 dollar certified check from citi bank. I was only asking 1900. for the guitar, thankfully I realized what was up. I hope nobody falls for it.
flyingcolors95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2009, 02:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Administrator
Poster Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: TDPRILAND
Posts: 7,064
Guys, please just email or simply report it here. Really, it's the only way I can ban these crooks is when I know about them.

They are everywhere on the internet not just here. Here's the deal: You cannot run ads online and NOT get scam emails. Period. The signs are very easy to spot. Educate yourselves.

And please simply post the email address of the perps here or email me at webmaster@tdpri.com. And please do it ASAP! Both of you.

PS. I need the original email address as via their first contact email because it will contain the same email address they used to register. If the TDPRI username is on that contact email please give me that as well. If you put your email address in your ad, and they've contacted you from that there is no way that I can help you because non-registered can contact you from an email that you put in the sales description.
TDPRI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2009, 03:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
NEW MEMBER!
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4
Hey:
The same deal for me. here's the email
Mark Stome [mark_stome@yahoo.com]

Thanks for the replies
TonyF



Quote:
Originally Posted by flyingcolors95 View Post
I had the same thing happen to me. They sent me a 4800.00 dollar certified check from citi bank. I was only asking 1900. for the guitar, thankfully I realized what was up. I hope nobody falls for it.
TonyF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2009, 05:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Administrator
Poster Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: TDPRILAND
Posts: 7,064
Yeah... posted about that guy the day he joined and we banned him.

http://www.tdpri.com/forum/bad-dog-c...assifieds.html
TDPRI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2009, 01:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Hemlock, NY
Age: 55
Posts: 942
I just got this today: From a Larry_Mahn with a link to my neck for sale. Sounds suspect to me.

larry_mahn@yahoo.com

Hello,

I saw the advert of your item for sale and am really interested in it,I will
like to know if it is still available for sale,if so let me have the asking
price and the picture(s) ,the present condition.I will also like to know if it
can be picked up in your location.To hear from you soonest.Thanks
guitarbuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2009, 01:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Administrator
Poster Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: TDPRILAND
Posts: 7,064
Yes it is. See the notice in the Bad Dog and in the Announcement section.

When you see an email like this don't say "sounds suspect" say "a scammer, for sure."
TDPRI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2009, 07:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
NEW MEMBER!
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Matthews, NC
Age: 41
Posts: 9
Scam

Guitar Builder,

Your add matches the same one I received from a " Mark Stome" last week.
He sent a fradualent certified check and his part of Nigerian Internet Scam.

I noticed where Mr. Stome was banned from the site and he has apparently changed names or somone has taken over.
Regulator is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Attempted gig with RondoMusic SX Tele gtrplr Telecaster Discussion Forum 26 January 12th, 2009 09:21 PM
TDPRI Classified Ads - Scammer Report BluezNotez Bad Dog Cafe 18 November 17th, 2007 10:00 AM
How does one report a scammer on Ebay? BLACKCAT69 Bad Dog Cafe 3 February 5th, 2007 09:45 PM
Scammer in the GC Lance Bad Dog Cafe 2 July 4th, 2005 09:08 PM
Shameless self-promotion (division of attempted literature) KC Bad Dog Cafe 0 February 23rd, 2005 10:02 PM




IMPORTANT:Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult! No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.