The Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world. Information on electric guitars, amps, effects, and more. With guitar photo galleries, Free guitar Classified Ads, guitar reviews, music and guitar articles, guitar resources and more.
fender telecaster electric guitar discussion forum and galleries and classifieds and reviews.
Make a donation with PayPal Telecaster Guitars at Ebay Musician's Friend Stupid Deal of the Day

Supporting Vendors
Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence El Dorado Guitar Accessories Lace Music Products Acme Guitar Works Carlton Guitars GuitarSale.com Warmoth.com
advertise on the tdpri 
 

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Main Telecaster Forum > Forum Problems & Issues

Notices

Forum Problems & Issues Not for general discussion. Post only problems & questions concerning the website for the moderators to review.

Forum Jump


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old March 29th, 2009, 06:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Doctor of Teleocity
 
chet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: The Jersey Shore
Posts: 10,892
Hey, I clicked on the Main Forum Page and...

I got one of those Spyware installation pages. I don't know if it finished downloading the Spyware or not.

I'm gonna do a scan.

__________________
"I'm only livin' for the end of the week." -James Taylor
chet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2009, 07:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Doctor of Teleocity
 
chet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: The Jersey Shore
Posts: 10,892
I scanned it but nothing came up.

I'm gonna reinstall my DOS just to make sure everything's kosher.
__________________
"I'm only livin' for the end of the week." -James Taylor
chet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2009, 08:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Moderator
Doctor of Teleocity
 
getbent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Benito County, California
Posts: 13,671
its you mang. you gots a disease.

it could come from hating on your favorite mod.
__________________
We don't see things as they are, we see them as we are
getbent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2009, 08:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
araT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sydney, Oz
Age: 24
Posts: 1,179
They're reporting simliar problems over at the Gretsch Discussion Pages.. seems the whole gear-talk network (or their hosting servers) got attacked.
araT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2009, 08:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Doctor of Teleocity
 
chet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: The Jersey Shore
Posts: 10,892
Quote:
Originally Posted by getbent View Post
its you mang. you gots a disease.

it could come from hating on your favorite mod.
Prolly caught from yo nasty azz...
__________________
"I'm only livin' for the end of the week." -James Taylor
chet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2009, 08:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Doctor of Teleocity
 
chet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: The Jersey Shore
Posts: 10,892
Quote:
Originally Posted by getbent View Post
its you mang. you gots a disease.

it could come from hating on your favorite mod.
Hey, quit talking about mah man Timbo like dat!
__________________
"I'm only livin' for the end of the week." -James Taylor
chet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2009, 10:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
Brutalblues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New Jersey, USA
Age: 50
Posts: 1,283
Could have ridden into your machine from an email or one a them there pornographical sites
Brutalblues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2009, 11:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Doctor of Teleocity
 
chet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: The Jersey Shore
Posts: 10,892
This is a porno site?
__________________
"I'm only livin' for the end of the week." -James Taylor
chet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2009, 11:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
JPark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Saint John, NB
Age: 19
Posts: 1,200
Quote:
Originally Posted by chet View Post
This is a porno site?
Of course it is! Haven't you seen all those guitar pictures we have on here?
__________________
JPark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2009, 11:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
rkwrenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: La Plata, MD
Age: 52
Posts: 314
Similar thing happened to me this morning on the Strat-Talk page. My bet would be one of those ever changing embedded ad things. Mine was a spyware alert and proceeded to do a mock scan and install attempt.

I got out of it and ran a virus scan that turned up nothing.

Cheers and HTH,

Bob
rkwrenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2009, 09:54 AM   #11 (permalink)
Doctor of Teleocity
 
chet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: The Jersey Shore
Posts: 10,892
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkwrenn View Post
Similar thing happened to me this morning on the Strat-Talk page. My bet would be one of those ever changing embedded ad things. Mine was a spyware alert and proceeded to do a mock scan and install attempt.

I got out of it and ran a virus scan that turned up nothing.

Cheers and HTH,

Bob
Yeah, the exact same thing happened with mine.

Last night on 60 Minutes a guy from Symantec was on showing how one of the virus' could show all your passwords and usernames on a hackers computer. Then they talked to a lady who had problems with her checking account and actually watched someone trying to alter her accounts while she was logged in.

My bank is bad enough with the idiots they hire as customer service personell etc. I don't need hackers getting into the account as well.
__________________
"I'm only livin' for the end of the week." -James Taylor
chet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2009, 12:21 PM   #12 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 3,557
Chet...

Which browser were you using at the time - e.g. Firefox, IE7?

Did the dodgy site appear in a tab, a pop-up window or a pop-under copy of the browser?

These details may help determine where the problem originated.

As well as a virus scan, run CCleaner to empty your browser's cache. The popped-up website itself may not show as malware and the link to it could still be on your harddrive.
pengipete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2009, 04:10 PM   #13 (permalink)
Administrator
Poster Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: TDPRILAND
Posts: 7,060
There is absoluting NOTHING wrong on the GearTalk Network sites. The problem is completely a false reading by your anti-virus software. I'll bet you every single person reporting this is running McAfee Internet Security.

This is a worthless program and it decides that absolutely harmless files are "SECURITY PROBLEMS".

You need to either get some other security program or change your settings in your current application. All that's happening is some ad on the page is using Flash to customize what you are shown based upon your browser history. McAfee gets all confused and guesses that its' a security problem. It's not.
TDPRI is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump




IMPORTANT:Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult! No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.