Removing checking on a vintage guitar?!?! - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > The DIY Channel > Finely Finished
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!
Notices

Finely Finished Discussion of painting, finishing and yes, even relicing your guitar. Remember relicing is a finish option not an affront to your emotions.

Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com

Forum Jump

Old June 28th, 2011, 12:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted

Removing checking on a vintage guitar?!?!

First off I am a pro painter and actually specialize in lacquer work but this is a new one on me.

I do a lot of guitar refinishing and a guy contacted me with a 1966 Goya (sp?) Hollow body. Its in great condition minus a headstock chip and the usual checking. He wants the checking cracks gone and wants me to sand it level and overspray with a new coat of lacquer.

I'm VERY hesitant to do this as its so clean but that's what he wants. I was wondering if I could use blush eraser to get rid of checking on old lacquer or maybe some sort of mixture of retarder and solvent.

I'm trying to think of any way to get out of applying more lacquer to this guitar.

I'm more accustomed to stripping and starting over or repairing chips so repairing something natural like checking seems silly. I thank you for any ideas.

Old June 28th, 2011, 12:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted

Considering what people are willing to pay for checking (authentic or relic'd), this is beyond me.

Old June 28th, 2011, 12:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Doctor of Teleocity

What you describe should work.

I think.

Remember, this is free advice.

Are you sure, really sure, the finish is lacquer?

Wouldn't that loose, sloppy, dissolved "lacquer" have a desire to slough right off the body?