Rangemaster Layout Verification - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.
   

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > The DIY Channel > Burnt Fingers DIY Effects
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!

Burnt Fingers DIY Effects Building or modding your own Effects and Stompboxes? Then use this forum to discuss the process and show your pride and joy.


Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com


Forum Jump


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old March 11th, 2013, 09:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
bendeane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 301
Rangemaster Layout Verification

Getting my feet wet and just breadboarded a rangemaster schematic I found am I'm pretty pleased with it. I made this layout for veroboard and I wanna see if I'm on the right track. Anyone care to take a look and check my layout?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	rangemaster.jpg
Views:	108
Size:	7.3 KB
ID:	170733   Click image for larger version

Name:	DallasRM2.jpg
Views:	918
Size:	41.7 KB
ID:	170734  

bendeane is offline   Reply With Quote

Old March 11th, 2013, 09:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
bendeane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 301
Bigger jpg of layout

Sorry about the small .png. Here is a bigger jpg.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	rangemaster.jpg
Views:	163
Size:	33.5 KB
ID:	170735  
bendeane is offline   Reply With Quote

Old March 13th, 2013, 08:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
bendeane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 301
Bump
bendeane is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links   #
Sponsored posting
 

Old March 13th, 2013, 12:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Belgium
Age: 48
Posts: 885
Dark blue wire from the gain pot should go to the red wire strip (assuming that's the lowest voltage potential, whatever you call it) , I think you are simply mistaking the 25 cap.
What you call "ground" would be the highest voltage potential.
In order to avoid confusion I would swap the red and black colors of both wires in the scheme so they correspond to the battery clip colors.

The 3 cuts are unnecessary I would say but can't harm
__________________
TerminalFrost.be
poiureza is offline   Reply With Quote

Old March 27th, 2013, 07:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Belgium
Age: 48
Posts: 885
So was I right or were you wrong ?

Did you build it yet ?
__________________
TerminalFrost.be
poiureza is offline   Reply With Quote

Old March 28th, 2013, 10:56 AM   #6 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
bendeane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 301
Pretty sure you were right. Waiting on some parts and trying to decide what transistor to use. I need to play my breadboard circuit through my gigging amp cranked, which isn't ideal during the day (stay at home dad). I'll keep you posted. Got a broken direct box for an enclosure so I'm pumped about reduce reuse recycle. In the process of painting the box while I wait for parts.
bendeane is offline   Reply With Quote

Old March 31st, 2013, 09:19 AM   #7 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
bendeane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 301
Started a new thread about this build. Gonna try two circuits in the same enclosure switchable by a dpdt switch. It's an old direct box shell so plenty of room. One silicon based, the other germanium. Just out of the spirit of experimentation.
bendeane is offline   Reply With Quote

Old April 11th, 2013, 11:35 AM   #8 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
bendeane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 301
Another question about the rangemaster schematic...

Resurrecting this discussion with another question...

I've got a circuit completed and ready to load into the enclosure. I'm curious about a few things...the schematic I used doesn't show any diodes. I've seen a few that include a diode between the 9v- and one of the 47uf caps and then to ground (my previously posted schematic used 25uf but I decided to see what 47uf caps would do). What does that added diode do?

I've attached one of the schematics that shows it. Wondering if I should add it to my board. Also, what is the procedure for connecting to capacitors in parallel that aren't polarized? Does it even matter which way they are put in? Going to add a switch that will combine two caps in parallel to make a more full range boost.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	rangemasterdiode.jpg
Views:	138
Size:	28.5 KB
ID:	175957  
bendeane is offline   Reply With Quote

Old April 11th, 2013, 03:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
Armo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wales
Posts: 304
The 47uf cap is for power filtering and helps eliminate noise caused by the power supply. Sometimes a 0.1uf NP cap is also added. The diode is to protect the circuit against being plugged into the wrong supply (9v+).
Two caps in parallel will act the same as one cap equal to the sum of both of them
(ie. 10nf + 22nf = 32nf).
Just noticed that there are 2x47uf caps. I'm referring to the one at the top of the schematic
Armo is offline   Reply With Quote

Old April 12th, 2013, 09:07 AM   #10 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
bendeane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 301
So if I'm gonna wire up for battery only operation and not put a DC jack in, the diode would be useless?
bendeane is offline   Reply With Quote

Old April 12th, 2013, 11:11 AM   #11 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
Armo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wales
Posts: 304
Yup. Like **** on a bull.
Armo is offline   Reply With Quote

Old April 13th, 2013, 03:32 PM   #12 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Belgium
Age: 48
Posts: 885
And the 47uF cap too since there is nothing to filter here
__________________
TerminalFrost.be
poiureza is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


» Random Photo for Guests
Yamaha CPX 8
Untitled Document



 


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2



IMPORTANT:Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult! No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
© TDPRI.COM 1999 - 2014 All rights reserved.