Tap Tempo w/ LED Circuit - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > The DIY Channel > Burnt Fingers DIY Effects
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!

Burnt Fingers DIY Effects Building or modding your own Effects and Stompboxes? Then use this forum to discuss the process and show your pride and joy.

Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com

Forum Jump

Old July 15th, 2010, 11:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
TDPRI Member

Tap Tempo w/ LED Circuit

Attached is a circuit for a tap tempo pedal with LED which lights when the DPDT is depressed. The tap seems to work with my delay. My question is two-fold:

1) as you can tell from my diagram, I am new at this and am wondering if I am missing something. The resistor I am using with the LED is 470 ohm to keep the LED really bright. Is that too low a value? Do I need a stereo jack for shorting out the DC jack? (the diagram shows a battery, but I will be using a DC jack.) Any other problems you all see with the circuit?

2) when I plug this into my delay pedal, it seems to work, but I haven't used it for any length of time as I am worried that this circuit might be feeding voltage into my delay pedal (the Fishman Aura Delay - I play a lot of acoustic). Is this the case, and or is this a problem?

Thank you all for your help!
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Tap Tempo LED Ciruit.pdf (29.9 KB, 801 views)

theorymatt is offline   Reply With Quote

Old July 15th, 2010, 12:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted

No Good. Remove the "X" wiring on the switch. Use half the switch to turn the LED on. Use the other half to short the tip and ring of your jack. No battery connection to the jack, other than grounding the shield/ring to the (-) battery.
The 470 resistor should be fine. Depending on your LED, you may want to go to 1K.