Fretting technique - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Other Discussion Forums > The BASS Place
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!
Notices

The BASS Place Talk about Bass guitars and the low end of the scale.

Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com

Forum Jump

Old January 14th, 2013, 05:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Tele-Holic

Fretting technique

I'm new to bass (but a long time guitar player). I'm finding on my cheapo bass I have to be very careful to fret the notes close behind the frets to avoid extraneous noises and buzzing. My bass is less forgiving than my guitars in this respect.

Is this normal for basses in general (something to do with the fatter string diameter?), or is it a set-up issue on my particular instrument?

kiwi blue is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 14th, 2013, 05:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Tele-Meister

It may be a finger presure on the string issue. Bass take slightly more pressure on the string to get a good tone without buzz. Since you are a long time guitar player you probably know what a good set up should look like, even on a bass?
fenderslaper is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 14th, 2013, 05:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Tele-Holic

roundwound strings (my favorites) are very buzzy on bass if you don't fret correctly. you are on the right track, holding close to the fret. your action may be too low as well, are the strings buzzing on the fret you are holding or the one in front of it ? if you genuinely use the whole fretboard, set-up on a good bass is nearly as picky as a good guitar.