Telecaster Guitar Forum
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone with respect, no matter how difficult that may be. No hate, politics, religion, sex or drug discussions.
No Commercial Posts: Do not use the TDPRI to buy or sell anything.
Telecaster Guitar Resources Guitar T-shirts
Guitar Tuner
6
E
5
A
4
D
3
G
2
B
1
E
Telecaster Music Shop

Telecaster Guitars at Ebay Musician's Friend Stupid Deal of the Day
 

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Main Telecaster Forum > Bad Dog Cafe

Bad Dog Cafe Hershey's Bad Dog Cafe is where Off Topic Discussion is welcomed -- but please follow our rules and stay away from subjects that turn political or have caused fights in the past.

Forum Jump


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old December 11th, 2006, 02:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
Big Mike Simpson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Gilbert, AZ (PHX)
Age: 52
Posts: 1,502
Ebay warning

DO NOT CLICK ON THESE LINKS

When making this search for Telecaster guitars... (one of my saved searches)
Home> Buy> Musical Instruments> Guitar> Electric> Fender> Telecaster
http://instruments.listings.ebay.com...istingItemList

This ad was in the middle of the page all of the ads you normally see on an ebay search page came up with a girl in a suggestive gallery picture... So I clicked on it... Teles and...girls... NOT
http://cgi.ebay.com/ONLINE-FREE-GIER...QQcmdZViewItem

The page shows for a second and then automatically forwards (browser redirect) to this page below that looks like an ebay page but the URL is not ebay where they try to get the Ebay user to sign in but it is not Ebay

http://assistantdirectors.com/Galler...e=STRK:ME:LNLK

All of this occurred from an actual ebay ad that has malicious HTML included in the ad to redirect you to a site and steal your logon info... not from a spoof email. I reported it and it's been pulled but be careful and always login by clicking on the link to "my ebay" not in a screen that pops up.
Big Mike Simpson is online now   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old December 11th, 2006, 03:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Poster Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Lost Angeles and Orange County
Posts: 7,128
Yeah, I've seen those too.

Anytime you're asked to enter your password just for looking at something and then being redirected is a little weird :)

Ah, boobies, the magical "bait". They're master baiters those fraud guys.

The good news is those "auctions" are usually pulled by eBay very quickly. Most within 2 minutes.
JohnnyCrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

The words Fender®, Telecaster®, Stratocaster® and the associated headstock designs are registered trademarks of the Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.
The TDPRI is an independent,member supported forum and is not affiliated with Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0
© TDPRI.COM 1999 - 2008 All rights reserved.