Website and/or Legal Advice - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > General Discussion Forum > Bad Dog Cafe
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!
Notices

Bad Dog Cafe Hershey's Bad Dog Cafe is our Off Topic forum -- but NO POLITICS and NO FIGHTING. NOTE: Discussion of guitars other than Tele & Strat belongs in the "Other Guitars" forum and discussion of Music belongs in the "Music to Your Ears" forum.

Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com

Forum Jump

Old February 20th, 2013, 04:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Poster Extraordinaire

Website and/or Legal Advice

Figured I'd throw myself on the mercy of the TDPRI experts first.

As many of you know, I'm a local guitar teacher. I've been doing it for nearly 30 years, so I guess this is my career. Back in 2003, I started using a "Yahoo Group" to keep in touch with students, and bought a URL to use for email and to point at my Yahoo Group.

www.GuitarLogic.com

Over the past ten years, I've posted quite a few transcriptions and lessons in the files section of the Yahoo group. Unfortunately, Yahoo recently changed their policy and it looks like I will no longer be able to post my transcriptions there.

It's time to look at alternatives.

First, can anyone recommend a good service or combination of services that I can use to host my transcriptions, keep in touch with students, and post lessons?

Second, what are my legal responsibilities/liabilities if I post transcriptions on my own website? I never intended to infringe any copyrights, but apparently Yahoo thinks I might have done so, hence their new policy.

I'm not selling these transcriptions, but since I do teach guitar for a living, someone could argue that I indirectly make money from them, and therefore that I should pay royalties to the songwriters/copyright holders.