Ethicality of Sun Tzu - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > General Discussion Forum > Bad Dog Cafe
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!
Notices

Bad Dog Cafe Hershey's Bad Dog Cafe is our Off Topic forum -- but NO POLITICS and NO FIGHTING. NOTE: Discussion of guitars other than Tele & Strat belongs in the "Other Guitars" forum and discussion of Music belongs in the "Music to Your Ears" forum.

Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com

Forum Jump

Old January 5th, 2013, 04:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's

Ethicality of Sun Tzu

Please forgive me a little roundabout while I make my case.

As a Marine combat vet I have always held (and will always hold) a positive view of our armed forces and their mission, while simultaneously hoping that we do not send anymore of my brothers and sisters into harms way needlessly.

It is of course up to personal interpretation when we think about whether a combat deployment is/was necessary or not, with some of our country feeling one way about that deployment and some country feeling the other.

This is the basis of free thought and free speech. May it never be impeded by speech where one group feels more important or right than another group's.

To the point of this thread. Sun Tzu states that all warfare is based on deception. We know that these principles are effective in times of war, as well as in general business practice. Pretend to be weak when you are strong, feign ignorance when you know your adversary's secrets, etc...

Much like the bible has been co-opted, the teachings of SunTzu have been applied to arenas where they happen to be the most effective, but probably not what the author intended.