|
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|||||||
| Home | Forum | Resources | TeleShop | Gallery | Classifieds | Reviews | Register | FAQ | Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read |
| Bad Dog Cafe Hershey's Bad Dog Cafe is where Off Topic Discussion is welcomed -- but please follow our rules and stay away from subjects that turn political or have caused fights in the past. |
|
|
Thread Tools |
|
|
#1 (permalink) |
|
Tele-Afflicted
|
Which is worse - eBay or Guitar Center?!?
Here's a fine "howd'ya'do?" I woke up to, today.
Check out this auction: The eBayer here, whose handle is gcrep114 (Guitar Center Representative???) and whose e-mail is through guitarcenter.com lifted the text from my ENTIRE webpage to describe HIS guitar - including some photos of MY GUITARS! See my webpage: http://www.deaf-eddie.net/silver.html I sent him an e-mail asking him to REMOVE my text and pics from his listing, but then I said he could use a paragraph, but no more. Sheesh! A quick edit to add: Ohmygawd, I just saw his asking price of $300!!! He's obviously using my flowery description and nostalgic raving in an attempt to con some rookie - that REALLY SUCKS! Yeah, I love those axes, but only if you get them at a realistic price - like, under a hundred bucks for the model he's selling for three times that. Wow. Whaddaya think- shine it on, or try to cause a big stink?
__________________
YMMV - I been wrong before... |
|
|
|
| Sponsored Links |
|
|
#3 (permalink) |
|
Tele-Holic
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Palmdale, CA
Posts: 764
|
Tell him you are sending over a couple of big Sicilian friends wearing Hawaiian shirts to collect your percentage.
"Hey, it's strictly business." 8) Seriously, I bet you could make some money offering a sales writing service. If you're good enough to copy, you're good! Your web site is protected by (C) and he broke the law. You should report him. Gary
__________________
"I need to learn some new scales and stop obsessing about this stuff." http://www.myspace.com/slickshoes |
|
|
|
|
|
#4 (permalink) |
|
Tele-Meister
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Denison TX
Posts: 163
|
I would tell him to send you an instant payment of $100 through Paypal for services rendered or you will report him to E-Bay. Sometimes you have to strongarm punks like that. I would be really ticked.
__________________
"I probably ought to quit my drinking but I don't believe I will"~James McMurtry |
|
|
|
|
|
#5 (permalink) |
|
Tele-Afflicted
|
YES YES YES file a fraud report with ebay.
Guitar Center has run so many fraudulent auctions and every time someone finds one they should report it. They should NOT be linking to your website for text and/or pictures without permission. I just submitted a fraud report on ebay Item 7314230995
__________________
Alvin http://www.myspace.com/alvinblaine http://www.oldbluesound.com/about.htm _________________________ Originality is just undetected Plagiarism! |
|
|
|
|
|
#6 (permalink) |
|
Tele-Afflicted
|
OK he updated the auction and gave credit to the website and apologized.
__________________
Alvin http://www.myspace.com/alvinblaine http://www.oldbluesound.com/about.htm _________________________ Originality is just undetected Plagiarism! |
|
|
|
|
|
#7 (permalink) | |
|
Tele-Afflicted
|
Quote:
It's like when my kids hit each other and say sorry.. The point is they still hit each other and saying sorry does not make it right. Otherwise, they get into a pattern that if they hit each other and say sorry, they can just keep doing that. Steal content and photos and all you have to do is say sorry and you can keep using them.. No way! But you did a very good think to report them Cowboytwang. That takes guts. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#8 (permalink) |
|
Tele-Afflicted
|
Still up there this morning...
So now he "credits" me for my prose - BUT!
To me, that just makes me look like an accomplice in this - to me, THAT'S WORSE THAN JUST STEALING MY TEXT. Thanks for filing the fraud report, Cowboytwang. I sent him another eBay message, telling him to remove ALL my text and pictures, and I sent a complaint to eBay - not that I think they'll do anything... Ooooo - now I see that the auction has concluded - not "pulled," just "concluded..." Boy, do I feel dirty!
__________________
YMMV - I been wrong before... |
|
|
|
|
|
#9 (permalink) |
|
Tele-Afflicted
|
"The seller ended this listing early because of an error in the listing."
I think he got the message. He relisted the auction and has a link to your site.
__________________
Alvin http://www.myspace.com/alvinblaine http://www.oldbluesound.com/about.htm _________________________ Originality is just undetected Plagiarism! |
|
|
|
|
|
#10 (permalink) |
|
Banned
Friend of Leo's
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Haven, CT. USA
Posts: 3,219
|
i think you guys did the right thing. even if he gives credit, he didn't have your permission to use it.. i'm not a lawyer.. tony dogs??
anyway, gc has plenty of resources to make up , buy, or somehow get good descriptions on their own |
|
|
|
|
|
#11 (permalink) |
|
Tele-Afflicted
|
So, here's my inelegant solution...
I edited my webpages to display this disclaimer at the top, on both my homepage and my Harmony axe page:
"IF YOU CAME HERE VIA A LINK IN AN EBAY AUCTION: PLEASE be aware that I have NO association with this person, he is attempting to use my website to promote HIS item. If you're looking for info about the Harmony H15 he has listed, FIRST, the "street price" for that axe SHOULD be in the $100 range, NOT the $300 he is asking... If that don't scare you off already, there's not much else I can say, other than I have no affiliation nor any particular affection for Guitar Center. They got a lot of BALLS to use me this way, without my consent or permission. If I knew who to b*tch [complain] to about this, buddy, you'd better believe I'd be b*tching..." Let's see if he leaves the links to my site up now!
__________________
YMMV - I been wrong before... |
|
|
|
|
|
#12 (permalink) |
|
Doctor of Teleocity
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Bakersfield Ca.
Age: 58
Posts: 12,865
|
Eddie just add something to your web page that says no information from this page may be used in print without my permission.
Guitar Center vs EvilBay sounds like a new monster movie hahah. |
|
|
|
|
|
#13 (permalink) | |
|
Moderator
Poster Extraordinaire
|
Re: So, here's my inelegant solution...
Quote:
That's great. :) |
|
|
|
|
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
|
|

The words Fender®, Telecaster®, Stratocaster® and the associated headstock designs are registered trademarks of the Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.
The TDPRI is an independent,member supported forum and is not affiliated with Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.