Telecaster Guitar Forum
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone with respect, no matter how difficult that may be. No hate, politics, religion, sex or drug discussions.
No Commercial Posts: Do not use the TDPRI to buy or sell anything.
Telecaster Guitar Resources Guitar T-shirts
Guitar Tuner
6
E
5
A
4
D
3
G
2
B
1
E
Telecaster Music Shop

Telecaster Guitars at Ebay Musician's Friend Stupid Deal of the Day
 

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Main Telecaster Forum > Bad Dog Cafe

Bad Dog Cafe Hershey's Bad Dog Cafe is where Off Topic Discussion is welcomed -- but please follow our rules and stay away from subjects that turn political or have caused fights in the past.

fundraiser

Forum Jump


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old June 1st, 2008, 01:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
studio1087's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Near Milwaukee
Age: 44
Posts: 3,959
Ebay - Paypal - Fishing Crooks.....Blog...

I received an email yesterday that said that I had bought a Sony Play Station with my Paypal balance. I just sold a guitar and amp therefore I had money in the account and the notification about the Play Station frightened me.

If I wanted to dispute the change I had to "log in" using my password.

I realized that it was a scam to get my password and I reported it to spoof@paypal.com.

I entered the fake name (Wayne Blakewell of PA) and address of the Play Station recipient into a search engine and I actually found a blog site reporting how the crooks do what they do. The same recipient name and address has been used in this scam over and over. A bright guy in another country set up the blog so that people like me would find the info if we googled the name and address of the Play Station "ship-to" address.

Check this out......

Paypal Fishing Explanation Blog

My mother in law fell for this two years ago. She collects antiqued quilts and she actually used her password on one of these fake emails. Someone started buying sporting goods with her Paypal balance.

Check out the Blog. The guy who established it is an IT person. It's put together very well.

Happy Sunday!

John
__________________
JLG
Carry On
studio1087 is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old June 1st, 2008, 01:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
Joe-Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Dallas, Texas
Age: 46
Posts: 3,876
Shouldn't he be in jail?
__________________
Music is the language of God.
Joe-Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2008, 01:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
studio1087's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Near Milwaukee
Age: 44
Posts: 3,959
I doubt that Wayne exists. They just make someone up in hopes that that people like me will pannic and log in using a password....then they have the password. They question is where are they?
__________________
JLG
Carry On
studio1087 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2008, 01:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
studio1087's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Near Milwaukee
Age: 44
Posts: 3,959
I just googled "Wayne's" address and there is a 16 Elm St in Brownsville PA!

I found more Blogs about this same scam....

http://www.postal-code.com/mrhappy/b...er-and-better/

I always get shocked when I realize that there are people with abundant talent (like computer crooks) who can't use their skills to get a legitimate job.

Folks can be funny. I don't get it. I wouldn't want to go to jail but that's just me.
__________________
JLG
Carry On
studio1087 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2008, 02:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Western Maryland
Posts: 1,578
My wife and I get so many bogus e-bay and Paypal messages..............
Thank God for the Delete button!!

Steve
6942 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

The words Fender®, Telecaster®, Stratocaster® and the associated headstock designs are registered trademarks of the Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.
The TDPRI is an independent,member supported forum and is not affiliated with Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0
© TDPRI.COM 1999 - 2008 All rights reserved.