|
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|||||||
| Home | Forum | Resources | TeleShop | Gallery | Classifieds | Reviews | Register | FAQ | Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read |
| Bad Dog Cafe Hershey's Bad Dog Cafe is where Off Topic Discussion is welcomed -- but please follow our rules and stay away from subjects that turn political or have caused fights in the past. |
|
|
Thread Tools |
|
|
#1 (permalink) |
|
Friend of Leo's
|
Ebay - Paypal - Fishing Crooks.....Blog...
I received an email yesterday that said that I had bought a Sony Play Station with my Paypal balance. I just sold a guitar and amp therefore I had money in the account and the notification about the Play Station frightened me.
If I wanted to dispute the change I had to "log in" using my password. I realized that it was a scam to get my password and I reported it to spoof@paypal.com. I entered the fake name (Wayne Blakewell of PA) and address of the Play Station recipient into a search engine and I actually found a blog site reporting how the crooks do what they do. The same recipient name and address has been used in this scam over and over. A bright guy in another country set up the blog so that people like me would find the info if we googled the name and address of the Play Station "ship-to" address. Check this out...... Paypal Fishing Explanation Blog My mother in law fell for this two years ago. She collects antiqued quilts and she actually used her password on one of these fake emails. Someone started buying sporting goods with her Paypal balance. Check out the Blog. The guy who established it is an IT person. It's put together very well. Happy Sunday! John
__________________
JLG Carry On |
|
|
|
| Sponsored Links |
|
|
#4 (permalink) |
|
Friend of Leo's
|
I just googled "Wayne's" address and there is a 16 Elm St in Brownsville PA!
I found more Blogs about this same scam.... http://www.postal-code.com/mrhappy/b...er-and-better/ I always get shocked when I realize that there are people with abundant talent (like computer crooks) who can't use their skills to get a legitimate job. Folks can be funny. I don't get it. I wouldn't want to go to jail but that's just me.
__________________
JLG Carry On |
|
|
|
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
|
|

The words Fender®, Telecaster®, Stratocaster® and the associated headstock designs are registered trademarks of the Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.
The TDPRI is an independent,member supported forum and is not affiliated with Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.