$vboptions[bbtitle]

Is there a way to use an amp head through the speakers of a combo amp?

Solcat
January 20th, 2008, 03:00 PM
Or do you have a buy a speaker box?

Flat357
January 20th, 2008, 03:09 PM
I'm often wrong , but I would think you could simply plug your head into the back of the cab where the combos own connection to the speaker would be .

Just be sure the speaker can handle your head .

4 Strings
January 20th, 2008, 03:24 PM
What Flat357 says is perfectly right.
You also have to make sure that the speaker impedance of the combo's speaker is the same as that of your amp head. An impedance mismatch is not good for (could even be fatal to) Your power tubes and/or Your output transformer.
Other than that, just go ahead!

PhatTele
January 20th, 2008, 03:36 PM
I do this all the time. It's actually my main rig for gigs. I use a Tremolux or Bandmaster or Bassman head and patch it to a 2x10 combo cabinet which has a Bandmaster chassis sitting in it. I use the head as the main amp by putting a speaker cable in the head, attaching a dual female socket to the other end of the cable. Then, I take the speaker cable and plug from the combo cab and stick it into the other end of the female connector. What this does is allow me to play whatever head I want as the main amp and then use the onboard Bandmaster as a backup in case I blow a tube or something else goes flakey w/the head.

chabby
January 20th, 2008, 03:48 PM
Yeah, I do it too. Just go to guitar center and get the proper coupler and cords. The little coupler is the key is you already have plenty of speaker cords laying around. The coupler is so you can unplug the speaker from the amp which speaker you want to use. You can't just leave the amps speaker plugged into the amp. Then you have to plug the head into the amp which is what the coupler is for. The coupler is just a 1/4 " tube with double female receptacles.