$vboptions[bbtitle]

New to Strats - HELP!!

esteban
May 13th, 2007, 07:00 PM
I'm new to the Strat world; a friend gave me a Strat-copy body, and I have about $150 to spend.

GuitarFetish has a great reputation around here, and I'm pretty sure I can get all that I need from them. This guitar needs EVERYTHING: bridge (old one has no saddles/screws), pups, electronics, controls, pickguard... well, ok, it has tuners. It's routed for a bridge humbucker, and it used to have a trem.

About the tremolo... there's a wire sticking out from underneath. Is that supposed to be there? I don't know much about tremolos, but I thought they were completely mechanical... I'm thinking of getting a normal hardtail bridge instead. Are there any issues I should know about if I do?

What do you guys think of their SuperStrat wiring kit? What pickup set do you recommend? I'm not really looking for "that" sound, but I do play a lot of different types of rock (indie/alternative/random blues/metal). So whatever is good overall will work just fine with me.

Some ideas that I have:
1. Make a normal 3 pickup Strat, but using the GFS SuperStrat wiring kit
2. Putting a humbucker in the bridge, and perhaps not installing a middle pickup.
3. Putting only a humbucker/single-coil in the bridge; I've always wanted an single pup guitar, and well, here ya go.

P.S. He had a lot of stickers, and I'm still in the process of cleaning it up.

JCollins
May 13th, 2007, 08:00 PM
The wire is supposed to be there. It is a ground wire. The bridge, whether it is a trem or a hardtail, must be grounded. To ground a trem bridge, there should be a wire between the spring claw (in the back), and the ring of the output jack. Since your body does not have an output jack, that end of the wire is disconnected.