$vboptions[bbtitle]

Whats the difference between a Fender Stratocaster and........

wu11ie
August 2nd, 2012, 08:45 PM
Whats the difference between a Fender Stratocaster and one that says Squire Stratocaster by Fender ?

I've taken a bit of re-interest in my guitar the past few weeks and have been looking around guitar shops and on line etc.

I quite fancy getting a Stratocaster, but there are a fair few about and i noticed a few like the ones above, i was just wondering what the difference was because to me (a complete novice) they look the same :oops:.

Are the Squire ones just a cheap(er) copy of the original Fender ones ?

Thanks in advance :)

Stratburst
August 3rd, 2012, 12:04 AM
Squier (note the spelling) is Fender's budget range for those people who want the Fender look but don't have the $$ to pay for the real thing.

As to which is better, that's where the fit hits the shan, if you catch my meaning. Some players will claim their $100 Squier is just as good as a $4,000 Custom Shop guitar while others will say you get what you pay for.

Personally, I fall somewhere in the middle. I've been impressed with some cheapies but I paid $1,000 for my #1 Strat and I feel it's worth every penny.

teletwang67
August 3rd, 2012, 04:30 PM
Squier is Fender's cheaper brand. They make the same types of guitars, but they usually aren't as good as a Fender. The newer Bullets are actually very good for a $100 guitar. But I think a better guitar is a Fender Standard Strat, I got mine on Craigslist for $200.

Jazzmasterfan
August 3rd, 2012, 05:35 PM
Although there is a price and quality difference between Fender & Squier there are some quality bargain guitars to be had. I have a Simon Neil Squier Strat which is very good value. I read and hear that the Fender Classic 50's Strat us good value.

Lunchie
August 3rd, 2012, 05:46 PM