stax
June 18th, 2012, 03:44 AM
Would some of you experts kindly cast your eyes over this add and see if it looks okay, seems very cheap which is ringing alarm bells.
Stax
http://www.gumtree.com/p/for-sale/hg037-fender-custom-shop-stratocaster-2009-eric-clapton-blackie-guitar/104720866
GigsbyBoyUK
June 18th, 2012, 03:50 AM
Price is stupid. Description is cut and paste rubbish instead of being specific about this particular guitar. Steer clear.
stax
June 18th, 2012, 04:11 AM
Haaaa cheers mate thought so but I do like a bargain.
While ya there what do you think of my pimped Sessionette I knocked together last week :)
https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.3378728627016.2128104.1233396268&type=3
Ron Garson
June 18th, 2012, 04:21 AM
If it seems too good to be true...then it probably isn't!
I would avoid!
Dan The Man
June 18th, 2012, 04:31 AM
It seems too good to be true. The decals on the back of the headstock look like they're at the wrong angle as does the small one on the front.
£550.00 for genuine custom shop blackie? No way.
Le Jab
June 18th, 2012, 05:07 AM
Price wise its waaaay too cheap, but I am struggling with this one. The transfers do look a bit dodgy ('original contour body' esp), but someone has done a lot of work - serial number, Cert of Authenticity and correct/detailed case candy etc, for just £550. He aint making much, and as I say gone through a lot of time and effort. The build date workshop paper is at 2/19/09 (correct American order - month, day, year).
Anyone who goes to this amount of detail to build a fake, would know the secondhand value of a mint Blackie. This is what doesnt make sense.
stax
June 18th, 2012, 05:31 AM
Le Jab
Exactly what I thought.
A lot of work for £550, as the guitar is going to be picked up by a guitarist shelling out that sort of money then fake or not it needs to be a half decent guitar in the first place to stand a chance of someone falling for it!!
If it was a few hundred more I could maybe understand but a hell of a lot of trouble to go to ripping someone off for such a small amount.
GigsbyBoyUK
June 18th, 2012, 05:33 AM
Who knows if those pics are even genuine? Does he actually own that guitar?
GigsbyBoyUK
June 18th, 2012, 05:35 AM
Haaaa cheers mate thought so but I do like a bargain.
While ya there what do you think of my pimped Sessionette I knocked together last week :)
https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.3378728627016.2128104.1233396268&type=3
Was this a conversion of a 1x12 into a 2x12?
stax
June 18th, 2012, 06:55 AM
Was this a conversion of a 1x12 into a 2x12?
Yes it was,I have been using it for a while but preferred it with and extension cab, I know you are a fan of these amps also.
Le Jab
June 18th, 2012, 07:02 AM
If its not too far for you to go, then check it out. The ad suggests its a 100 guitar collection being broken down - who knows the story behind it? If it isnt as the ad states i.e pics aint genuine etc - then you can walk away. If it is, well thats when your problems start, and some questions need answering.