$vboptions[bbtitle]



another scammer

zimbo
May 27th, 2012, 09:14 AM
PRS Mira Cherry Red

Good day,
Is your PRS Mira Cherry Red still available for sale ? What is the last price and what is the condition? I will like to pay using PayPal,After payments has been made,I will arrange for the pick-up and will you let my pick-up agent to come to you house for the pick up? Because i don't want you to worry yourself about the shipment,Reply back khotmiller@yahoo.com

Regards

khotmiller@yahoo.com

yz250f49
May 27th, 2012, 09:26 AM
khotmiller? khotmiller? He still owes me money!!!!! :twisted:

LarsOS
May 27th, 2012, 09:34 AM
What kind of a scam is this? (I'm new here.)

TDPRI
May 27th, 2012, 10:22 AM
Yes, I agree.

It seems this scammer has eliminated many of the usual "tells". I have banned him and will post a notice about him.

And yes the username is khotmiller.

TDPRI
May 27th, 2012, 10:27 AM
What kind of a scam is this? (I'm new here.)

It is a scammer thief contacting people in our Classifieds section trying to steal their goods and probably some money along the way.

The wording is an obvious scam giveaway.

whitecat
May 27th, 2012, 11:30 AM
I got this too.

Anytime there is a 'pickup agent' of any kind involved, I guarantee it's a scam.

Usually these emails are a bit more general in nature - not referring to a specific guitar but just calling it 'the item.' The fact that this idiot is actually IDing the guitars for sale in the email means that he's putting in a little more effort than usual

The Paypal payment will either be made with a stolen/hacked account, or you will get a fake 'notice of payment' email from Paypal which will say they are 'holding your funds until the buyer confirms the item has been delivered' or something to that effect. There may also be a phishing attempt on your own Paypal account in the process. Sometimes at the last minute he'll claim 'problems with Paypal - can I please pay by cheque/money order, I'll send it with the pickup agent and pay you a little extra for your trouble.' When people hear 'extra' they can get greedy and blindly go along with it... invariably the cheque or money order or whatever will be a fake, but it might take *months* for your bank to work that out. When they do, you can bet they won't be happy!

In the end, you'll be out a guitar and possibly in a messy dispute with Paypal and/or your bank as well if you accept payment that way.

plymman
May 27th, 2012, 11:37 AM
It's a scam. If anyone wants to buy something and send someone to collect it later, make sure they make a bank transfer first. Once you've checked with the bank that the money is in your account they can't get it back, unlike paypal.

The straightforward paypal scam is they pay, send someone to collect it and claim they never received it. You obviously can't provide proof of postage so paypal refund the buyer. It's simple, effective and a very nasty little scam.

TDPRI
May 27th, 2012, 12:20 PM
The IP address on this thieves' account is a US IP address. That's something we've never seen before. Previously all other scammers had Nigerian IP addresses.

These guys are learning and adapting. Everyone will need to be on heightened alert for things like "my pick-up agent to come to you house for the pick up"

I can't believe they want the item being sold. I can only guess that they will find some way to make the payment for thousands of dollars more than the item costs and then demand that you give them the overage in cash.

fenderplayer
May 28th, 2012, 12:56 AM
as a moderator myself on another forum this would have been dealt with swiftly by the team But I have never seen any spam or scam this out right blatant or obvious; if this weren't so serious it would be almost funny but it's not.that forum gets a lot from China and lately New York.usually selling something or putting links up to an escort service.how we never had Nigerian 419's and the like beats me(being www had Africans).I am Glad Administration is on top and active on this.Ours is just too busy so he(yes just one) has moderators take care of forums.yes another Music Forum. I like the features here not on mine.:grin:

Major Kudos to this forum's Admin.glad someone told me about this forum.along with other ''fora''all music related. : )
should be fun Here.have not checked Classifieds here but others don't bleed over into forums IF that's what's going on izzit?