$vboptions[bbtitle]

Schaller Megaswitch Model E Wiring - Switching

Phostenix
August 1st, 2011, 10:35 AM
Here's some info on how the Schaller Megaswitch Model E 5-way switch works:


Schaller Megaswitch Model E

Terminals:

1. Connected to Terminal 3 in positions 2 & 4
2. Connected to Terminal 3 in positions 3, 4, & 5
3. Normally connected to the Output
4. Normally connected to Ground
5. Connected to Terminal 4 in positions 3 & 4
6. Connected to Terminal 3 in positions 3 and to Terminal 4 in position 2
7. Connected to Terminal 3 in positions 1 & 2


Switching Arrangement (Terminal Connections):


1 is normally the Middle pup Hot lead
2 is normally the Neck pup Hot lead
3 is Normally Output
4 is normally Ground, except with 3 single coils (not connected)
6 is normally the coil splits of a Bridge humbucker
5 is normally the coil splits of a Neck humbucker
7 is normally the Bridge pup Hot lead


Switching Positions:

1. 7 to 3
2. 7 to 3, 1 to 3, 6 to 4
3. 6 to 3, 2 to 3, 5 to 4
4. 2 to 3, 1 to 3, 5 to 4
5. 2 to 3

http://www.eyb-guitars.de/Eyb-English/Megaswitch_files/English%20Megaswitch%20E.pdf

fleximan5
November 23rd, 2012, 09:23 PM
Hi Phostenix
Long time lurker / first question here.
I bought the E Megaswitch thinking it was like a Super Switch but alas not so.

I am currently using a Fender Super Switch for the following config.
Pos:
1) Bridge with Tone (last knob = T2)
2) Br + Mid with tone (T2)
3) Mid (no tone pot...just a treble bleed resistor)
4) M + N with tone (first tone knob = T1)
5) N with tone (T1)

I really like this setup (the mid pup by itself is really cool with the Bill Lawerence microcoils I am using) but the switch is pretty poor quality (I.E. in Pos 3, you can get pos 2 without even clicking out of pos 3). It's really loose and easy to get the wrong selection while playing.

Question: Is it possible to get the same config with the E Mega? I could cut a trace etc. if I had to? or should I find another switch?
I really like the feel of the Mega...

Thanks and Best
F5

Phostenix
November 26th, 2012, 08:54 PM
It looks like you could do what you want with a standard 5-way switch. Connect Tone 1 directly to the neck pickup & Tone 2 directly to the bridge pickup and you'd have no tone pot in the middle position.

Gregmw
January 3rd, 2014, 03:00 PM
What is the difference between the E Megaswitch and a CRL 5-way Lever Switch http://www.stewmac.com/shop/Electronics,_pickups/Components:_Switches_and_knobs/CRL_5-way_Lever_Switch.html