$vboptions[bbtitle]

Most versatile guitar?

New to buying
August 21st, 2010, 09:39 PM
As you can tell by my name, I'm pretty much new to any kind of trading/selling/buying or guitar names and stuff like that. I'm really good at guitar, and im 14 ive been playing for like5 years. I started out with alternate rock, and now ive kind of drifted into jazz and blues. Now i realize that my 100 dollar off brand strat and 1 foot high marshall practice amp won't do. So i've been saving up and i went to the music store where the guy explained pickups, and guitars and whatnot.

So what i want to know is what do you think is the most versatile guitar in your opinion.

And if it could just be a simple answer like "telecaster" or "SG" because i sure can't rewire a pickup or anythin technical like that. Thanks in advance :razz:

Birdmankustomz
August 21st, 2010, 09:52 PM
I started on a H-S-S strat, and from that I learned what I wanted in a higher end guitar. I think my guitar is incredibly versitile (American Standard tele with a humbucker bridge and a single coil in the neck and a phase switch). With that I have everything from classical tones to death-metal. It took a bit of work with the wiring but there are plenty of people that can walk you through it on here or you could take it to a shop.

EDIT: I realized I didn't really answer your question, I'd say either a H-S-S strat or a good tele.

adjason
August 21st, 2010, 09:53 PM
well since this is the telecaster forum I will say telecaster.........neck pickup can do jazz, middle can do almost anything an out of phase strat can do, and the bridge (with tone control) can do anything else...............and it is the coolest looking guitar

tonewoods
August 21st, 2010, 09:55 PM
So what i want to know is what do you think is the most versatile guitar in your opinion.

Welcome to the forum....

Oh, and I'll go with a GreTsch 6120...

It'll do anything, and well....

Chris S.
August 21st, 2010, 10:00 PM